Skip navigation

On a glorious final day, Arron Newby and Rob Fagg (Subaru Impreza) made it back to back outright successes on Rally Isle of Man powered by Microgaming, as they added the 2014 victory to add to their inaugural success on the event last year.Newby Manx14a

19 year-old Newby, who became the youngest ever winner of the title in 2013, retained his Eurocars Motorsport Manx Rally Championship crown in fine style following Friday’s leg, before taking a two minute lead into the final day’s seven closed roads stages and swept to fastest stage time on each of them. It extended the VP Fuels/Pirelli/Beatsons Building Supplies TEG Sport driver’s winning margin to 3m27.4s ahead of Manxman Steve Colley’s Mitsubishi at the finish to continue his incredible run.

Along with local Kirk Michael co driver Rob Fagg, the defending Manx Rally Champions got their campaign underway in brisk fashion on Thursday evening by setting a record time on SS1 before being delayed due to a car which had gone off and blocked the stage on SS2. Nonetheless, the pair ended the leg in the lead to clasp one hand on the trophy.

Friday saw the Beatsons Building Supplies and VP Fuels/Pirelli-backed TEG Sport Subaru pair continue their pace and arrived back in Douglas with sufficient points earned to confirm their second successive Manx title. It was Newby’s fourth win of the year and he celebrated the title in style by being fastest on 19 out of the 22 stages which ran competitively.

Newby Manx14bArron Newby: “Well that’s Rally Isle Of Man won for the second year in a row. We’ve been fastest on nearly every stage and with the Championship also secured; I don’t think it could have been a better weekend! I drove at a fast but comfortable pace throughout the rally and it was nice to show my pace on the island against the BRC front runners after setting fastest times on the majority of the stages. A huge thanks to Rob on the notes, he’s been perfect all week on them. Thanks to TEG Sport for the superb car, it hasn’t moved over the bumps and apart from the slight problem on Thursday night which they soon fixed, the car’s ran faultlessly. Also thanks to Pirelli whereby the tyres have again been fantastic, VP Fuels, Ravenol, Beatsons Building Supplies and the rest of my sponsors for the support. It’s been a brilliant weekend and now it’s time to celebrate!”

Stuart Newby, TEG Sport Team Owner:  “The boy has driven fantastic all weekend especially when he had the Championship at stake. His plan was to retain the title in leg one of the rally and enjoy leg two which is exactly what he did and his winning margin demonstrated that. I would just like to thank everyone involved with Arron for all the hard work and effort they’ve put in, from the team to the sponsors as we couldn’t do it without you all.”

Combined Overall Final Result after SS24
1 Arron Newby/Rob Fagg – Subaru Impreza – 2:01:59.4
2 Steve Colley/Andrew Cowley – Mitsubishi Evo IX – 2:05:26.8
3 Nigel Cannell/Michaela Cannell – Mitsubishi Evo IX – 2:06:30.7
4 Rob Smith/Alun Cook – Ford Escort RS1800 – 2:10:44.4
5 Meirion Evans/Iwan Jones – Ford Escort MkII – 2:12:23.3
6 Andrew Hockridge/Aled Edwards – Citroen DS3 – 2:13:13.3
7 David Stokes/Guy Weaver – Ford Escort RS1600 – 2:14:18.5
8 Will Onions/Dave Williams – Ford Escort RS – 2:14:55.8
9 Martyn Jones/Martin Burns – Vauxhall Nova GSi – 2:15:45.8
10 Jimmy McRae/Pauline Gullick – Vauxhall Firenza – 2:16:39.4

Pictures courtesy of Mark Corlett

%d bloggers like this: