Skip navigation

cambrian14 (9)The climax of the BTRDA 2014 championship saw Steve Perez (Focus WRC) and Paul Bird (Focus WRC) co head-to-head to decide who would be champion. The scenario was simple, win the rally and you will be champion and after the 1st stage Perez, co-driven by Paul Spooner, was fastest through the stage. Bird, co-driven by Aled Davies, had gone off and dropped a minute to his rival. Stage 2 saw a twist as Dave Weston & Kirsty Riddick (Impreza WRC) went fastest to take the lead from Perez. It was then the Bird onslaught started as he went fastest on 5 of the remaining 6 stages, with Weston taking the only other one, but it was not enough as Bird ended up 12 seconds behind Perez. The pair tied on points but Perez was champion, whilst Weston showed a statement of intent as he took a maiden BTRDA win by 20 seconds.

Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) dominated the Silver Star against a quality field to take victory by over 40 seconds and finish 7th overall. Gwyndaf Evans & Dale Furniss (Escort MkII) were 2nd on a rare outing for the Dinas Mawddwy man. Rex Ireland & Adrian Scadding (Escort MkII) completed the top 3 almost 4 minutes further back.

In the 1400’s Marcel Freling & Karen Robinson (ZR) took the victory after Mat Smith & Giles Dykes (Ka) were handed a 2 minute time penalty dropping them to 4th. Dan Gray & Matt Rogers (106) were 2nd just 4 seconds ahead of Clive Anstey & Tim Currie (Satria). As a result they passed Freling in the championship by 4 points but it was only enough for 2nd at the end as the 4th place was enough for Smith to be crowned 2014 1400 champion. Rory Jones & Tom Hughes (ZR) took the rally first category at the Cambrian.

%d bloggers like this: