Skip navigation

Chesterfield rally driver Steve Perez clinched his fourth National title following a second place finish on this weekend’s Cambrian Rally and in doing so, added to the title he last won in 2010.Perez_Cambrian14a

Along with Welsh co-driver Paul Spooner, the pair knew that in order to be certain of the title, they had to finish ahead of title rival Paul Bird and were in confident mood after taking their third victory of the season on last month’s Trackrod Forest Stages Rally.

Driving the Dansport-prepared ex-Marcus Gronholm Kick Energy Ford Focus WRC07, Perez led following the opening stage as Bird hit problems and from then on, it was a case of keeping out of trouble and managing his advantage over the following seven tests.

Trailing eventual winners David Weston and Kirsty Riddick’s Subaru after the second stage, Perez, who had won the Cambrian Rally in 2010, took the fight to them by setting fastest time on SS3 from where he controlled his advantage for the remainder of the event.

Third fastest on SS4 before setting second quickest time on the following stage, Perez opted for caution on the final three tests as he kept out of trouble to cross the Llandudno finish ramp in second place ahead of Bird which was enough to seal him the crown.

Perez_Cambrian14bSteve Perez: “I’m obviously delighted to win but it was a really difficult situation as I wasn’t sure exactly what to do given I had such a big lead over Birdy after SS1.  Conditions were extremely slippery and I found myself driving too cautiously but I didn’t want to throw it away either.  Birdy was on a charge and setting some brilliant times so I knew I had to keep the pace up which was difficult.  But we managed it and to win what I consider to be Britain’s most competitive rally series once again is fantastic.”

1. David Weston/Kirsty Riddick – Subaru Impreza WRC – 0:49:52
2. Steve Perez/Paul Spooner – Ford Focus WRC – 0:50:12
3. Paul Bird/Aled Davies – Ford Focus 07 WRC – 0:50:24
4. Matt Edwards/Will Rogers – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX – 0:50:57
5. Stephen Petch/Ian Windress – Ford Fiesta R5+ – 0:51:31
6. Thomas Naughton/Andi Mort – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX – 0:52:33

Further information is available by following Steve Perez Rallying on Facebook at and on Twitter @steveperezrallying. For further information on the company’s products, including Amigos beer, please visit and the team’s official rally website is

Picture (courtesy of James Ward, Chicane Media) Steve Perez and Paul Spooner in action on the Cambrian Rally.

%d bloggers like this: