Skip navigation

premier14 (2)Robert Swann & Darren Garrod (Impreza WRC) made it 4 in a row on the Premier with a comfortable win of over a minute. Fastest stage times on all 6 stages were all the confirmation needed. The battle for 2nd, however, went down to the wire with Arron Newby & Rob Fagg (Impreza) edging out Karl & Guy Simmons (Impreza WRC) by just a single second. Simmons had snatched 2nd on the 4th stage but then dropped time on stage 5 before setting a blistering time on stage 6, going 2 seconds quicker than Newby. It was not enough however.

Gavin Ruler & Peter Grant (Escort MkII) were the first 2WD finishers back in 11th overall. In the Historic rally the top 3 all went faster than Ruler and it was Paul Street & Ian Jones (Escort MkII) who may have been off the pace of Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII), but took a comfortable victory once Robinson called it a day after stage 4. Almost a minute back in 2nd were Chris Skill & Glenn Hall (Escort MkII) who were just 6 seconds ahead of Barry Jordan & James Gratton-Smith (Avenger), who had the pace to be 2nd but dropped over 20 seconds on stages 3 & 4.

%d bloggers like this: