Skip navigation

rockingham14 (8)Another year almost chalked off as our end of season foray to Rockingham saw a capacity field for the first time in 5 years. There was quality too with the top 4 all recent winners on circuit based rallies. In the end it was David Tinn & Marc Fowler (Satria Neo) who won by over two and a half minutes. They set a total of 7 fastest or joint fastest stage times across the 12 stages and were never out of the top 5 stage times for the entire rally. Josh Payton & Marcus Mizen (Escort MkII) were best of the rest overnight but retired early on day 2, after dropping to a minute behind Tinn.

2012 & 2013 winners Paul King & Alicia Miles (Escort MkII) were unable to match the pace of Tinn and instead found themselves battling for 3rd with Johnnie Ellis & Dave Green (Impreza). Ellis held a 13 second advantage overnight but King took 15 seconds out of Ellis on the 1st stage of day 2. As King looked set to catch Payton he too retired on stage 8 leaving Ellis in 2nd overall. Steve Cressey & Tom Murphy (Impreza) had closed to within half a minute after stage 7 but Ellis went faster than Cressey on the 5 remaining stages to ease out a 48 second advantage. First 2WD crew were Pete Rayner & Richard Bonner (Escort MkII) in sixth overall.

%d bloggers like this: