Skip navigation

Daily Archives: December 8th, 2014

– Held this year in Doha, Qatar, the FIA Prize-Giving Ceremony saw awards presented to the winners of its various Championships
– José María López, Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb monopolised the FIA WTCC driver standings, whilst Citroën won the Manufacturers’ Championship
– The Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team finished second in the Manufacturers’ World Rally Championship

A glittering occasion to mark the end of the season, the FIA Prize-Giving Ceremony was this year preceded by a challenge involving drivers and leading figures from the FIA. José María López produced an impressive performance to finish third in the karting race, behind Esteban Ocon – European F3 Champion – and Daniel Ricciardo. Read More »

Williams Advanced Engineering is pleased to announce that it is part of a consortium that has secured government funding from Innovate UK to test driverless cars in the Bristol region. This appointment follows the Chancellor’s recent autumn statement announcement to make the UK a world centre for the testing and development of this new technology.

Williams will be bringing its simulator and artificial intelligence technology to the project. An autonomous vehicle system will be integrated with the simulator to test it in a virtual environment. This technology will help increase the number of hours the system can be tested and can simulate various weather conditions and traffic scenarios that are difficult to test on real roads. Williams’ simulator technology will also help test public acceptance to driverless vehicles. Williams’ expertise in simulation originates in Formula One where the Williams Formula One teams’ drivers have been using highly sophisticated simulators since 2002. Read More »

Solberg Autosport Awards14Newly-crowned FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg picked up the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ at last night’s prestigious Autosport Awards.  Presented by former Formula One World Champion Jenson Button, the World RX ace was awarded the accolade at a glittering ceremony held at The Grosvenor House Hotel on London’s Park Lane. Read More »