Skip navigation

wyedean15 (2)The 40th Wyedean started in murky conditions on the Blaize Bailey stage for the 1400 crews but by the time the main field arrived conditions had improved. Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Fiesta) set the early pace on the short opener before Paul Bird & Aled Davies (Focus WRC) got into their stride of the remaining 3 morning stages with a series of fastest times. Going in to service Bird held a 21 second lead over David Weston & Kirsty Riddick (Impreza WRC) with Payne 3rd. Bird and Weston then swapped times over the next two stages before Weston lost time compared to Bird through the Serridge stage. Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Impreza WRC) were fastest as they climbed to 3rd overall. The final stage saw Bird seal victory with Weston over half a minute back in 2nd and Hunter a solid 3rd on his return to the gravel stages.

Notably Nik Elsmore & Matt Edwards (Evo IX) were 5th overall amongst the world rally cars after several years away from competition for the local two times winner of this event. His run was a one off to celebrate the 40th anniversary and his father Graham, co-driven by Stuart Harrold, entertained the crowds in his Escort MkII to 19th overall. Elsmore Snr was good enough to be 3rd 2WD crew home behind the ever flambuoyant Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) and 1400 winners David Bennett & Alistair McNeil (Corsa). Completing the Silver Star 2WD podium were Peter Elkins & Andrew Joll (Escort MkII) whilst the 1400 podium was completed by Ian Evans & Justin Brooks (Nova) and Ash Slights & Alex Lee (Yaris).

%d bloggers like this: