Skip navigation

agbo15 (1)A crisp start and a glorious day at Weston Park saw a superb day of rallying unfold in front of us. The top trio was an all Escort MkII affair in the end with 2014 winners Oliver & Ben Davies setting fastest time on the opening two stages from Paul Evans & Ashley Trimble, just 3 seconds behind after 2 stages. Roger Moran & Joy Hoyle were up to 3rd after the 2nd stage, by just a single second from Neil Weaver & James Bailey (Darrian T9 GTR). Davies was then fastest and joint fastest on the next pair of stages before the fastest times dried up. The remaining 6 stages were shared between Moran (4) and Evans (2) but Davies kept in the top 3 times throughout to take back-to-back victories by a 4 second margin.

Evans advantage over Moran was 7 seconds after 2 stages, down to 6 seconds after 4 before dropping to just 1 second after stage 6, (following a 6 seconds lost on one stage). The penultimate pair of stages saw Evans gain another second before Moran took 4 back on the 9th stage to snatch 2nd overall. The final stage saw another second gained by Moran to cement 2nd overall with Evans 3rd. Just 7 seconds separated the top 3 in the end, albeit on a compact event which is always fiercely fought out.

In this all 2WD event the top 3 were all from class D and it was Weaver who took class C with a fine 4th overall, just over a minute off the overall winner. Mathew Roberts & Eilier Williams (Saxo) were class B in 9th overall with the smallest category, class A, going Rhys Wyn & Cadog Davies in their Nova.


** Please note the official photographers for this event were so out of respect for them if you have any enquiries regarding images please can you direct them to Stuart Woodier at Rally Action **

%d bloggers like this: