Skip navigation

BHRC15 FlattersJason Pritchard and Phil Clarke claimed an important victory on round five of the Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship on the Harry Flatters Rally today (Sunday 26 July).

Persistent rain, heavy at times, made the Epynt ranges a tough place to go rallying, but Pritchard and Clarke rose to the challenge of five long stages and were clear victors as the sun finally came out in time to welcome the finishers back to Brecon.

Pritchard’s Ford Escort Mk2 also won Category K for cars running to FIA Appendix K regulations and took a useful overall lead in the championship as a result. Second of the BHRC contenders was the Escort Mk2 of Neil Williams/Peter James with their best result to date while Richard Hill/Iwan Jones were third and winners of Category 3 over rivals Nick Elliott and Dave Price.

Local driver Malcolm Rich and co-driver Jonathan Hawkins took over Category 1 in their Ford Anglia after a broken driveshaft cruelly sidelined the Ford Cortina Mk2 of Bob and Dale Gibbons with barely a mile to go. Category 2 also changed late in the day when driver illness forced David Stokes and Guy Weaver (Ford Escort Mk1) to retire. Father and son Ernie and Will Graham took over to score maximum points.

Category winners were:
Category 1: Malcolm Rich/Jonathan Hawkins (Ford Anglia)
Category 2: Ernie Graham/Will Graham (Ford Escort Mk1)
Category 3: Richard Hill/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort Mk2)
Category K: Jason Pritchard/Phil Clarke (Ford Escort Mk2)

Provisional championship points after five rounds:
1 Jason Pritchard 280
2 Nick Elliott 247
3 David Stokes 230
4 John Perrott 222
5 Richard Hill 212
6 Rudi Lancaster 207

The Harry Flatters Rally was organised by Brecon Motor Club. A more detailed event report will be circulated during Monday (27 July).

More details about the Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship can be found at
Follow the championship on Facebook at and on Twitter: @MSABHRC2015

%d bloggers like this: