Skip navigation

WWRS15 TrackrodTim Mason and Graham Wild were the first West Wales Rally Spares R.A.C. Rally Championship contenders home on the final round, the Trackrod Historic Cup (25/26 September).

However, it was incredibly close as the Porsche 911 ended the rally just four-tenths of a second ahead of the Open Category Ford Escort Mk2 of Phil Burton and Mal Capstick. An error over re-start times for Saturday morning cost Burton a one-minute road penalty and he could not quite pull back the deficit. Mason will not score championship points as he did not run championship livery on his car on this event.

Mason and Wild topped Category 2 in terms of the WWRS championship contenders, while a fighting drive from Aziz Tejpar and Alister Crook netted second despite losing the brakes on their Ford Escort Mk1 on the final stage. Stuart and Linda Cariss were the first 1600cc crew home in their Escort Mk1.

James Potter and Bob Duck took their Ford Escort Mk2 to maximum points in Category 3 and were pleased to round without any dramas after a high-speed roll on the 2014 event.

Burton/Capstick, confirmed as champions before the rally, won the Open Category by 39s from Barry Stevenson-Wheeler/John Pickavance (Escort Mk2).

Category winners were:
Category 2: Tim Mason and Graham Wild (Porsche 911)
Category 3: James Potter/Bob Duck (Ford Escort Mk2)
Category O: Phil Burton/Mal Capstick (Ford Escort Mk2)

The Trackrod Historic Cup was organised by Trackrod Motor Club. A more detailed event report will be circulated during Monday (28 September).

More details about the WWRS R.A.C. Rally Championship can be found at Follow the championship on Facebook at and on Twitter: @RACRallyChamp.

%d bloggers like this: