Skip navigation

trackrod15 (6)Glorious conditions once again bathed the North Yorkshire Moors for the Trackrod Forest Stages. With two separate events there was plenty of action to catch and in the BTRDA championship Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Fiesta) took a comfortable victory of almost two minutes from Damian Cole & Jack Morton (Fiesta WRC). By no means was that the whole story as Stephen Petch & Ian Windress (Fiesta R5+) had gone fastest on the opening stage and the fourth stage to lie half a minute behind Payne, before the final pair of stages. Sadly Staindale would prove the undoing as a throttle stuck wide open forcing Petch in to retirement. With Cole up to a comfortable 2nd overall, the final stage saw a shoot out for 3rd overall. Phil & Simon Pickard (Impreza) held it by just a single second from Pat Naylor & Ian Lawrence (Evo IX) but it was Naylor who came out in 3rd overall as Pickard lost 15 seconds, dropping to 6th overall.

The battle in the 2WD’s went the way of Callum Black & Paul Wakeley (DS3 R3 Max) by just over 15 seconds from Boyd Kershaw & Bryan Hull (Escort MkII). Phil & Mick Gallagher (Escort MkII) completed the Silver Star podium meanwhile in the 1400’s Ash Slights & Alex Lee (Yaris) had a superb event to take the win by almost half a minute. David Bennett & Alistair McNeil (Corsa) were runners up with Chris Powell & Jim Lewis (Sunbeam) completing the podium. Nick Carr & Joe Sturdy (Lupo) took the Rally First honours.

In the Historics Steve Bannister & Kevin Rae (Escort MkII) took victory by the best part of two minutes but they were trailing Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) going in to Dalby, in the daylight, by a few seconds. A big off did for Robinson and he retired from the rally with a heavily damaged car. Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) stepped up and took a clear 2nd place overall with Simon Webster & Jez Rogers (Escort MkII) completing the top three. John Perrott & Keaton Williams (Escort MkI) were 4th overall and category 2 winners with the open class going to 2015 WWRS RAC champions Philip Burton & Mal Capstick (Escort MkII), who would have been 3rd overall had it not been for a 1 minute road penalty. Category 1 only had two finishers so Bill Douglas & Roger Nevitt (BMW 1800) won from Bob Seager & Simon Hannam (MG Midget) when the Lotus Cortinas retired. Edd Cobley & John Tomley won the Landrover section of the rally.

%d bloggers like this: