Skip navigation

Audi Bahrain15aAudi Sport’s Oliver Jarvis has finished the highest-placed British driver in this year’s FIA World Endurance Championship (LM P1). Jarvis, from Burwell near Cambridge, finished fourth in the final LM P1 category standings of the eight-race series that came to a close in Bahrain last weekend (21 Nov).

Jarvis recorded eight top-seven finishes, including one podium, in his first full WEC season at the wheel of a diesel-hybrid Audi R18 e-tron quattro with co-drivers Lucas di Grassi (BRA) and Loïc Duval (F) competing for Audi Sport Team Joest. Oliver finished sixth in last weekend’s race after his Audi had led the early stages of the race but lost valuable time due to a brake disc defect.

“The Bahrain result pretty much summed up our season in that we had the pace again to challenge for a podium, and possibly a victory, only for a small issue to cost us any chance of success,” reflected Jarvis. “We were very fast and led the opening stages but luck wasn’t on our side once again.”

Oliver, who has been a “factory” Audi Sport driver since 2008, realised his dream this year of a “full time” WEC “seat” when nine-time Le Mans 24 Hour race winner Tom Kristensen retired. Jarvis contested his first sportscar race in an Audi R10 TDI for a privateer team in 2009 while a year later, made his Le Mans debut, collecting the “Rookie of the Year” Trophy for the best newcomer. Jarvis, who claimed a class win in the 2013 Daytona 24 Hours in an Audi R8, finished fourth at Le Mans this year having achieved third place finishes in 2012 & ’13.

The 2013 Sebring 12 Hour race winner will be in attendance when Audi publicly unveils for the first time the 2016 R18 on Saturday (28 Nov) in Munich, Germany. The R18 first raced in 2011, solely with TDI power, before a hybrid was added a year later. In its 39 races in various configurations to date, the LM P1 sportscar has achieved 17 wins – including four Le Mans victories. Championship title success was achieved in the Intercontinental Le Mans Cup (2011) and World Endurance Championship in 2012 (Drivers & Manufacturers), 2013 (Drivers & Manufacturers).

%d bloggers like this: