Skip navigation

cambrian16 (14)Barely 4 months after the last Cambrian Rally, the 2016 edition started the BTRDA season. Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Fiesta) were fastest on the opening stage with Luke Francis & John Roberts (Lancer IX) fastest on stage 2. The 3rd stage saw Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (208 T16 R5) head the time sheets but Payne still held the lead by a single second from Thorburn. A large time loss for Thorburn on the 4th stage saw him drop down to 7th overall whilst Connor McCloskey & Damien Duffin (Mini Cooper WRC) went fastest and moved in to the top 3.

A fastest stage for Payne saw his lead over Francis grow to 10 seconds over the next 3 stages, with just the Great Orme to go. Francis had one last chance and he stormed the Orme to take victory by a single second after taking 11 seconds out of Payne. It was cruel on Payne who had looked odds on to win but Francis never gave up. Thorburn completed the podium with two fastest stage times and had it not been for his bad time on stage 4 he would have had the victory. Still his goal was more miles ahead of the BRC and on that front it was mission accomplished. John Rowlands & Glenn Latham (Escort MkII) were the first 2WD crew home by over half a minute with Dave Brick & Phil Clarke (Nova) comfortable winners in the 1400 class.

%d bloggers like this: