Skip navigation

RNW16 NickElliott_inActionThe 2016 North Wales Rally Services – Rally North Wales has received a bumper entry as over 120 crews head to Dolgellau for the popular April 2nd event.  After running a successful and revised format in 2015, the Wolverhampton and South Staffordshire Car Club organised event will see competitors tackle a one-day blast through classic Welsh stages such as Dyfi and Gartheiniog, hosting the battle for a series of top-line championships.

Pirelli MSA Welsh Rally Championship contenders return to Rally North Wales once again this year and are joined by the spectacular Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship runners for the first time. The Defender Challenge by Bowler Motorsport is another new inclusion and they will certainly provide some great entertainment towards the rear of the field.  The ANWCC Forest Rally Championship and ASWMC Loose Surface Championship also return for 2016.

Organisers have retired the coveted “car 1” from the event in memory of popular rally driver and long-time club supporter David Stokes who recently lost his battle with cancer. This means Rhuddlan’s Luke Francis and co-driver John H Roberts will head the field away from Gwyndaf Evans Motors at car two on Saturday morning in his rapid Mitsubishi Evo 9.  BTRDA Rally series regulars Stephen Simpson and Patrick Walsh will certainly be hot on the heels of Francis in their Fiesta S2000 at three.

Brendan Cumiskey/Gerry Mc Veigh will make the long trip over from Ireland to gain forest mileage in his new Fiesta R5 and starts at number four seed. Taking maximum Welsh Championship points on the Mid Wales Stages earlier in the month, Llanon’s Dylan Davies is at five with new co-driver Mark Glennerster in his Subaru Impreza. Paul Davy/Roger Allen start at six and head the class eight runners for Group N – showroom spec machinery.

Heading up the Mintex MSA British Historic Championship crews is last year’s category winners Nick Elliot/Dave Price in their Ford Escort Mk2 at car seven with Builth Wells challenger Jason Pritchard at eight in his RS1800, accompanied by Phil Clarke. Shropshire’s Joe Price/Chris Brooks round off the top 10 in their similar machine.

Edd Cobley and John Tomley lead away the Defender Challenge by Bowler Motorsport crews as they look to build on their round one win at the Mid Wales Stages.

Spectators will have plenty of opportunity to watch the cars in action throughout the day, as well as at close quarters in the service area and start/finish venues.  The first car will leave the start line at Gwyndaf Evans Motors, Dolgellau on Saturday 2nd April at 09:00. To view the action, spectators can head to Geoff Jones Motorsport Dyfi for stage one at 09:35 and four at 13:10. You can also catch the action at Jordan Road Surfacing Big Ray for SS2 at 09:50 and SS5 at 13:30.

At a much slower pace, cars will be arriving at the Rally Marketing Service Park which is located at the Farmers Mart, Bala Road in Dolgellau from around 11:15.

Crews who have successfully completed the route will arrive at the finish at Gwyndaf Evans Motors at around 14:30.

All the news from the event will be updated via the Rally North Wales social media feeds:

You can also tune into Rally FM for updates online at

More information about the event, full spectator details and entry list are now at

Image courtesy of Rally Sport Media

%d bloggers like this: