Skip navigation

Round two of the 2016 FIA World Rallycross Championship will see four PEUGEOT 208 WRXs co-star in the action around a bespoke track laid out in the famous Hockenheim Stadium, Germany. All four drivers are targeting the top step of the podium in a bid to earn the favours of the 75,000-strong crowd which is expected to turn out for the show that shares the weekend’s bill with the opening clash of the 2016 DTM.

– Following the success of last year’s visit to Germany, world rallycross’s high-octane field is to share the bill once more with the DTM’s touring cars for another showdown at Hockenheim. A certain number of adjustments have been made to the usual WRX timetable.
– The 1.24km rallycross track in the heart of Hockenheim’s infamous Stadium section will incorporate the final part of the asphalt circuit used by the DTM cars. Two dirt portions have been added, the first of which has been revised following concerns in 2015.
– The 2015 race saw the Peugeot 208 WRXs showcase their potential when Timmy Hansen secured a second straight podium finish despite qualifying in 12th position.
– Sébastien Loeb and Timmy Hansen will defend the colours of Team Peugeot Hansen, while Davy Jeanney and Kevin Hansen have been entered by the Peugeot Hansen Academy.

Kenneth Hansen (Team Principal)
“After our mixed fortunes in Portugal, we took the time to analyse what happened and we are determined to put the lessons we have learned to maximum effect at Hockenheim. The PEUGEOT 208 WRX is a sound car. We simply need to make sure its strengths all gel together at the right moment, and we couldn’t be more motivated to succeed in making that happen. If it rains like it did in Portugal, we will be better prepared for the conditions this time. Hopefully, we will be able to use the planned layout at Hockenheim this year because we are looking forward to shining again in front of the Stadium’s packed grandstands. In 2015, the spectators were up on their feet and I am sure they will enjoy our spectacular show this time, too!”

Sébastien Loeb (#9 PEUGEOT 208 WRX, Team Peugeot Hansen)
“Hockenheim is a legendary place. I think it’s great to be able share a meeting there with the DTM. There’s sure to be a tremendous atmosphere. It’s always nice to compete in front of a big crowd and Hockenheim’s not far from Alsace, my native region, so I think a lot of friends and fans will make the trip. I can’t wait for the second round. I enjoyed my first experience of rallycross in Portugal but the track was a little atypical, so this race will give me a chance to see how I compare with the others in a different context. I am confident I will be able to make more of the car’s potential in Germany.”

Timmy Hansen (#21 PEUGEOT 208 WRX, Team Peugeot Hansen)
“I know Hockenheim well because I won a single-seater race there once. It’s a venue that is steeped in motor racing history and competing there in front of packed grandstands is always something special. The rallycross track is quite different from what we usually see and the gravel section calls for a fairly aggressive driving style, so you need to take that into account in the way you approach the weekend. Along with the other drivers, as well as all the engineers and mechanics, we are intent on reproducing the sort of form that helped us to win the Teams’ title in 2015.”

Friday 6 May
9:05 – 10:15: Free Practice
13:55 – 14:45: Qualifying 1
15:15 – 16:30: Qualifying 2

Saturday 7 May
17:15 – 17:25: warm-up
17:25 – 17:55: Qualifying 3
18:28 – 19:00: Qualifying 4

Sunday 8 May
11:00 – 11:05: warm-up
11:10 – 11:30: semi-finals
11:40 – 11:50: final

– Length: 1,24 km
– Asphalt: 60 % / Dirt : 40%
– Jump : none
– Lap Record: 0m43.764s (shorter track)
– Top Speed: 170 kph
– Hardest braking point : Turn 2 (From 170 à 80 kph)
– Joker lap Handicap: between 0,5 & 1 sec

FIA World Rallycross Championship standings after 1 round Drivers
1. Petter Solberg (Peter Solberg World RX Team, Citroën DS3), 29 pts
2. Robin Larsson (Robin Larsson, Audi A1), 21 pts
3. Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen RX Sweden, Volkswagen Polo), 21 pts
4. Toomas Heikkinen (EKS, Audi S1), 20 pts
5. Andreas Bakkerud (Hoonigan Racing Division, Ford Focus RS), 20 points
6. Mattias Ekström (EKS, Audi S1), 19 pts
7. Sebastien Loeb (Team Peugeot-Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 17 pts
8. Kevin Eriksson (Olsberg MSE, Ford Fiesta ST), 12 pts
9. Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot-Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 9 pts
10. Liam Doran (JRM, BMW Mini), 8 pts
11. Davy Jeanney (Peugeot-Hansen Academy, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 7 pts

1. EKSRX, 39 pts
2. Volkswagen RX Sweden, 28 pts
3. Team Peugeot Hansen, 26 pts

Broadcast in more than 120 countries across the world – The semi-finals and the final will be screened live in France on L’Equipe 21, in Sweden on SVT.

%d bloggers like this: