Skip navigation

nickygrist16-21With the BRC joining the Nicky Grist Stages it would be easy to get distracted by the headline act. Being loyal BTRDA regulars it was good to see how they measured up against the British rallying elite. Luke Francis & John Roberts (Evo IX) shone as always and took a classy BTRDA victory by exactly a minute from Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta R5+). With a number of top BTRDA crews failing to make the finish it was Paul Benn & Richard Cooke who were home in 3rd place, in what is now an ageing Focus WRC at 14 years old.

In the 2WD battle it was the Irish visitors Shane McGirr & Martin McGarrity (Starlet) who won by 10 seconds from Gavin Edwards & Caron Tomlinson (Escort MkII). Boyd Kershaw & Bryan Hull (Escort MkII) completed the podium after what had been a challenging event. A much depleted 1400 field, as it is these days thanks to the MSA’s ruling on running order, saw Chris Powell & Jim Lewis finally have some luck in their Talbot Sunbeam to take the class win.

As we only did the one day we didn’t see the asphalt stages, where the BRC results were decided. In the end though Elfyn Evans & Craig Parry (Fiesta R5) took a routine win by over a minute. Tom Cave & James Morgan (Fiesta R5) were a comfortable 2nd overall by 50 seconds from Desi Henry & Liam Moynihan (Fabia R5) who completed the podium. Matt Edwards & Will Rogers (Evo IX) were the first BRC champions as 12th overall was enough for them to secure the BRC2 title. Whilst Tomas & Eurig Davies (Fiesta R5) won the National section of the rally with Robert Duggan & Ger Conway were victorious in the BRC Junior category.

%d bloggers like this: