Skip navigation

woodpecker16 (7)A wet Woodpecker saw Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Fiesta) seal the 2016 Gold Star title with a 3rd place finish. His main rivals Luke Francis & John Roberts (Evo IX) were fastest on the first stage but then rolled on stage 2 and with it their championships chances disappeared. Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta R5+) were fastest on stages 2 & 3 and held a 19 second lead after stage 4, at 2nd service. Jamie Anderson & Ross Whittock (Fiesta R5) went fastest on the final 3 stages to secure 2nd place overall but Petch had done enough to win by 8 seconds.

In the Silver Star battle just 4 seconds separated the top 3 at the end of the rally. Gavin Edwards & Caron Tomlinson (Escort MkII) nicked victory by 2 seconds on the final stage from Mark Griffiths & Matt Rogers (Escort MkII). Boyd Kershaw & Bryan Hull (Escort MkII) were a further 2 seconds back and go in to the final round where a win would make them champions, however Edwards is in the box seat and a win on the final round would be enough for the title or if Kershaw finishes 3rd or worse. In the 1400’s Dave & Toby Brick (Nova) were utterly dominant to take victory by over two and a half minutes.

%d bloggers like this: