Skip navigation

rallyisleofman16-7The 2016 Rally Isle of Man saw the return of the BRC to the Island and whilst the championship had been decided there was the prospect of Elfyn Evans & Craig Parry (Fiesta R5) coming up against their stiffest competition of the season. Craig Breen & Scott Martin (DS3 R5) were the number one seeds but there rally was over on stage 3 so it was Mark Higgins & Darren Garrod (Fiesta R5) who would take the battle to Evans. Evans took the lead from stage 2 and held it until Friday night when Higgins made a fight back. With 6 stages ahead Higgins held the lead but Evans caught Higgins with two stages to go. The pair swapped fastest times on the final two stages but Evans held on to take victory by 5.9 seconds.

Tom Cave & James Morgan (Fiesta R5 Evo) were just over a minute further back in 3rd overall, keeping ahead of a very rapid Desi Henry & Liam Moynihan (Fabia R5) by 11 seconds. Henry had been fastest on a number of stages but it was consistency that counted in Cave’s favour. 9th overall and first 2WD crew home were Robert Duggan & Gerard Conway (Adam R2), finishing off a great 2016 season.

There were a number of other championships and battles going on and with the BHRC taking in a crucial double-header Jason Pritchard & Phil Clarke (Escort MkII) took two wins after a series of retirements to give themselves a decent chance of retaining their 2015 title. 14th overall and 40 seconds ahead of Will Onions & Jamie Edwards (Escort MkII) was a good return with the weekend. Title rivals Paul Barrett & Dai Roberts (Escort MkII) were the 3rd crew home and now it all comes down to the Trackrod in two weeks time. Meanwhile in the RAC asphalt championship Roger Matthews & Tom Marrott (Escort MkI) had a solid weekend to take the inaugural title.

%d bloggers like this: