Skip navigation

wrgb16-start-c– Eirias Stadium plays host to world’s fastest rally cars and crews
– Thousands of fans enjoy opportunity to meet their motor sport heroes
– Tänak tames Shakedown stage as competitors complete final preparations

Dayinsure Wales Rally GB roared spectacularly into life yesterday (27 October) with a show-stopping Ceremonial Start at Parc Eirias in Colwyn Bay and final preparations in the form of the traditional pre-event Shakedown.

Appropriately enough in Wales’ ‘Year of Adventure’ and with north Wales having just been voted No.4 in Lonely Planet’s Top Ten ‘Best in Travel 2017’ list – the only UK destination to achieve such a prestigious accolade – the flame-spitting FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) cars are ready for a flat-out blast through the famously unforgiving forests, crewed by the fastest and most fearless drivers and co-drivers on the planet.

wrgb16-start-dTo give fans a foretaste of the high-octane action ahead, all 66 international crews participated in the Shakedown in Clocaenog Forest, borrowing part of the route that will be run twice on Sunday, the final day of the 2016 edition of Dayinsure Wales Rally GB.

Ott Tänak was quickest behind the wheel of his DMACK World Rally Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC, but raising hopes of a first home triumph in 16 years, Abu Dhabi Total World Rally Team duo Kris Meeke and Craig Breen were hot on the rapid Estonian’s heels in a brace of Citroën DS3 WRCs.

Recently-crowned four-time FIA World Rally Champion Sébastien Ogier was fourth-fastest, while a high-profile guest enjoyed a fast-paced thrill ride alongside M-Sport World Rally Team’s Eric Camilli, as Matt Gotrel – who formed part of the all-conquering men’s eight rowing team that won gold in the Rio Olympics back in the summer – climbed into the cockpit of one of the Blue Oval’s potent little ‘pocket rockets’.

Once the dust had settled and the mud washed away, the cars and their driving crews headed north to Colwyn Bay and the Ceremonial Start at Parc Eirias, with an autograph session attracting thousands of fans who left with selfies aplenty and broad smiles on their faces.

Under the floodlights, all competitors drove over the start ramp to enthusiastic applause, with the world champion amongst others flagged off by Welsh Assembly Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Infrastructure, Ken Skates in front of live news crews from media heavyweights the BBC, ITV and S4C.

The action gets underway in anger tomorrow (Friday), with the longest day of the rally and a predominantly reversed route compared to previous years posing a fresh challenge.Saturday takes place closer to Wales Rally GB’s Deeside base and includes the hugely popular, family-friendly RallyFest stage at Cholmondeley Castle before the winners are crowned in Llandudno on Sunday.

Tickets on sale

wrgb16-start-aTickets for this month’s Dayinsure Wales Rally GB are still on sale. Advance adult admission starts at just £20 for the family-friendly RallyFest at Cholmondeley Castle, with day tickets available for £25 and the full four-day World Rally Pass priced at £99. All tickets include free parking and an event programme priced at £9. Accompanied children aged 15 and under are admitted FREE – a real half-term treat for families. The latest event and ticket information can be found on the official website and the official Rally Planner is now available online, providing fans with all the details required to plan their visit.

For further updates, follow Wales Rally GB on Twitter @WalesRallyGB or join the conversations on Facebook at



Event Timetable*

Thursday 27 October
08:00                 Official Shakedown – Clocaenog
17:00-20:00        Opening Ceremony, Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay
17:30-18:00        Autograph session, Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay

Friday 28 October
05:30                             Depart – Deeside
08:20                             Myherin 1 (Stage 1)
09:11                             Sweet Lamb 1 (Stage 2)
09:24                             Hafren 1 (Stage 3)
11:15                             Dyfnant 1 (Stage 4)
12:36                             Regroup and Technical Zone – Newtown (20 mins)
13:54                             Myherin 2 (Stage 5)
14:45                             Sweet Lamb 2 (Stage 6)
14:58                             Hafren 2 (Stage 7)
16:49                             Dyfnant 2 (Stage 8)
19:05                             Chester Eastgate Time Control
19:55                             Service – Deeside (45 mins)

Saturday 29 October
05:45                             Service – Deeside (15 mins)
08:18                             Pantperthog 1 (Stage 9) no spectator access
08:51                             Dyfi 1 (Stage 10)
09:27                             Gartheiniog 1 (Stage 11)
10:23                             Corris Regroup and Technical Zone
11:04                             Pantperthog 2 (Stage 12)
11:37                             Dyfi 2 (Stage 13)
12:13                             Gartheiniog 2 (Stage 14)
13:18                             Aberhirnant (Stage 15)
15:41                             Cholmondeley Castle (Stage 16)
16:29                             Service – Deeside (45 mins)

wrgb16-start-bSunday 30 October
07:20                             Service – Deeside (15 mins)
08:31                             Clocaenog 1 (Stage 17)
09:08                             Brenig 1 (Stage 18)
09:28                             Alwen 1 (Stage 19)
10:33                             Clocaenog 2 (Stage 20)
11:14                             Alwen 2 (Stage 21)
12:08                             Brenig 2 Power Stage (Stage 22)
13:26                             Ceremonial Finish – Mostyn Street, Llandudno

* All times are for the first car and subject to change

%d bloggers like this: