Skip navigation

lancaster16-pride-brian-braid-austin-healeyOut of 80 applicants, the final 20 cars set to battle it out in the Lancaster Insurance Pride of Ownership at the NEC Classic Motor Show, held at Birmingham’s NEC from 11-13 November, have been selected – and it won’t be an easy decision for the visitors to pick the ‘Pride and Joy’ of the show.

Richard Morley, Lancaster Insurance’s Operations Director, said: “The line-up is incredible and we’re thrilled to be involved in giving people the opportunity to showcase their pride and joy. It’s going to be a tough decision for visitors to choose their favourite and we can’t wait to see who you decide is the winner at the show.”

Oldest in the line-up is a stunning 1930 Chevrolet Sports Roadster, believed to be the only one of its year and model in the UK after arriving here in the 1970s following 40 plus years in Uruguay. Three other American classics also made the final – a 1936 Auburn Speedster, a 1950 Studebaker Commander, and a 1969 Corvette Stingray.

Giving a nod to motorsport is a 1973 Alpine Renault, regularly used on the circuit, a 1986 Audi Quattro, 1963 Mini Cooper 997, and a 1988 Peugeot 205 GTI, complete with bodykit that pays homage to the legendary T16 Group B rally car.

Daily driver classics also made the grade with a 1969 Capri Mk1, 1974 VW Super Beetle, 1989 Austin Metro City, 1984 Vauxhall Astra Mk1 GTE, and 1983 VW Golf Driver 1.3 taking up the challenge.

A ’67 E-Type Jaguar 4.2 Roadster and a 1963 Austin Healey are also included along with a freshly restored 1973 Jensen Interceptor, a 1978 Lancia Beta 1600 Coupe, 1976 Citroen Ami Super, and the youngest car on display – a 1996 Lotus Esprit.

lancaster16-pride-jonathan-smith-milk-float-1-1The rarest vehicle on display has to be a 1950 Nipper Truck Milk Float which is bound to win the hearts of all who see it. Believed to the the very last one in existence, it’s equipped with the correct period bottles including the old third-of-a-pint school milk bottles.

The winner, voted for by the show’s 70,000 visitors is announced at 1.30pm on Sunday 13th November on the display stand in Hall 3.

For more information on all the show features, exhibiting clubs, various ticket prices and booking details, visit

The 20 finalists:

Adrian Heath’s 1996 Lotus Esprit GT3
Brian Braid’s 1963 Austin Healey
Brian Davage’s 1963 Mini Cooper
Chris Clowes’s 1967 Jaguar E Type 4.2 Roadster
David Holden’s 1973 Alpine Renault A110
David Milligan’s 1983 Volkswagen Golf Driver 1.3
Ian Thompson’s 1988 Peugeot 205 Gti WRC Replica
James Cribb’s 1989 Austin Metro City
Jim Smith’s 1973 Jensen Interceptor
Jonathan Smith’s 1950 Nipper Truck Milk Float
Lewis Ingram’s 1974 VW Super Beetle
Luke Greenwood’s 1969 Corvette Stingray
Mark McCelland’s 1984 Vauxhall Astra GTE
Neil Osborn’s 1976 Citroen Super Ami
Nelson Hogg’s 1978 Lancia Beta  1600 Coupe
Paul Riley’s 1986 Audi Quattro
Peter Hampson’s 1930 Chevrolet Sports Roadster
Roger Learmonth’s 1935 Auburn Speedster
Sean Rooney’s 1950 Studebaker Commander
Stuart Turp’s 1969 Ford Capri Mk1

%d bloggers like this: