Skip navigation

The Alan Healy saw Ian Woodhouse & Paul Rowland (Escort MkII) crowned 2017 Motorsport News Circuit Rally Champions after a considered drive to 5th place overall. With Paul Swift absent and Steve Quigley (Clio) experiencing problems it was all about getting to the finish. The battle for victory was intense and Jamie Elston & Shaun Ridlington (Impreza) were fastest on the opening stage before David Tinn & Giles Dykes (Satria Neo) took the lead on stage 2, with a fastest time. Stage 3 saw their chances of a hat-trick slip away as they dropped 35 seconds. Elston regained the lead but now it was Jonny Milner, co-driven by his daughter Katie, who moved their Celica in to the lead on stage 4.

Stage 5 was the last before lunch and Milner went fastest to extend his lead to 9 seconds, meanwhile Tinn was setting a string of fast times, moving back up through the top ten. Chris West & Keith Hounslow (306 Maxi) moved in to 2nd place after a joint fastest time with Tinn on stage 6, then came two more fastest times for West and the gap to Milner was down to 5 seconds with the final stage to go. West went fastest again and Milner had a poor stage dropping 8 seconds as West took a last gasp victory from Milner. Completing the podium was Tinn who had fought back hard but ultimately stage 3 had cost him too much.

%d bloggers like this: