Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 24th, 2017

After a year off we returned to Ypres to see the British Rally Championship make its first foray on to Belgian soil. As well as the Belgian Rally Championship contenders there was the prospect of competing against Thierry Neuville & Nicolas Gilsoul (i20 R5). The British crews would be up against and the carnage on the opening night showed that the Flandrian roads take no prisoners as even Neuville was caught on on stage 6, rolling his car out of the rally lead but returning for the following day under super rally rules. Overnight, after 8 stages, Bryan Bouffier & Gilbert Dini (Fabia R5) held a 21.9s led over Kevin Abbring & Pieter Tsjoen (208 T16), thanks to 5 fastest stage times. Read More »

On top of all of this there were two separate Historic rallies too, each with their own battles and dramas. Paul Lietaer & Marc Noppe (Legacy) dominated the event and won by over 3 minutes. Behind though the battles were intense and it was Tom van Rompuy & Jens Vanoverschelde (M3) who took 2nd from Danny Kerckhof & Kristof Dejonghe (M3) after Erik Comas & Yannick Roche (Stratos) dropped 3 minutes on the final stage, whilst lying 3rd just 8s behind van Rompuy. Comas did hold on to 3rd in the FIA Historic Championship, with Ville Silvasti & Asko Sairanen (911) taking victory from Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Stratos) by 29.3s. Read More »

Duns rally driver Euan Thorburn took a nail-biting victory at this weekend’s Dunoon Presents Argyll Rally as the event returned to Dunoon for the first time in 14 years on Saturday (24th June). Read More »

Builth Wells will, for the first time, host both the start and finish ceremonies of the Quinton Motor Club organised Nicky Grist Stages, with a big motorsport celebration on the morning of Saturday 8 July and the afternoon of Sunday 9 July – to which everyone is invited. And what’s more, both events are completely free for spectators!

Strand Street will be the place to be for the new rally start on the Saturday– where the top seeded cars will be on display from 08.00 and where fans will be able to meet their rally heroes. All the competitors from 10 different championships – including the Prestone MSA British Rally Championship, Ravenol BTRDA Rally Series, Pirelli MSA Welsh Forest Rally Championship and MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship – will then be flagged away at one minute intervals from outside Strand Hall by local dignitaries and rally celebrities from 08.30 onwards. Read More »