Skip navigation

On what will be our only visit to Otterburn this year, Peter Taylor & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta WRC) took a dominant win by over a minute. A total of 9 fastest stage times sealed the victory but after the first loop of 3 stages it was Rory Young & Allan Cathers (Fiesta R5) who were leading, courtesy of fastest times on stages 2 & 3. Young steadily drifted back through the rest of the rally, as expected in an R5 up against a WRC machine. He was caught up in an intense battle with another Fiesta WRC, this one driven by Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson.

Young held on to 2nd overall by just 4 seconds in the end with Petch happy in 3rd overall, away from his preferred surface and picking up useful points in English Rally Championship. Taylor picked up top points along with the win as this championship is building up nicely. 4th overall and 1st 2WD crew home were Alan Kirkaldy & Cameron Fair (Escort MkII) just over a minute further back and holding off a whole host of 4WD machinery.

%d bloggers like this: