Skip navigation

Barnsley rally driver David White will make the trip to Northern Ireland this week as the Prestone MSA British Rally Championship returns from its summer break at the Ulster Rally (18/19 August).

The Two4Motorsport pilot will resume his assault on the championship after a turbulent season which has seen both class wins and unforced retirements. White, along with co-driver son Mathew will be aiming to take BRC4 honours in the Mirage Vape Stores backed Fiesta R2 and will be looking to repeat their victory at last month’s Nicky Grist Stages in Wales.

As the Championship heads into the final two rounds of the season, the Ulster Rally marks the first of two all-asphalt events. As a former British Asphalt Rally Champion, White is somewhat pleased that the forest events are over for the year and is glad to be heading onto the closed public roads around the Londonderry rally base.

Whilst White has competed in Southern Ireland as part of his National Asphalt campaign, he has never contested the Ulster Rally but is buoyed by the prospect.

“I won’t lie, I’m pretty relieved that the final two rounds of the year are on asphalt,” says White.

“Having said that, I really enjoyed the opening day of gravel on the Nicky Grist and began to find my affinity with the forestry again. I guess I need to remember that I’ve only ever done a handful of gravel rallies but we had a tough few rounds at the beginning of the year on gravel and it really disheartened me. But we are back to my ‘home’ surface now so I can feel the pressure lifting a little”.

White can’t afford to relax too much however as the BRC4 title could be decided in Ulster.

“It’s a shame that there have only been two of us in the class this year and Gee (Atherton) has been out of action with an injury,” he says.

“But I’ve been comparing my times with the youngsters in the Cadets and I`m really pleased with my progress considering we have shifted from a four wheel drive Subaru to a Fiesta this season. A win is a win though so we will do what we can to get the title wrapped up this weekend”.

The Ulster Rally offers over 130 stage miles of action spread across two days in the West of Northern Ireland.

White is running under the Two 4 Motorsport banner and is backed by Mirage E Cigarettes, F & G Commercials, DAF, Whites Bakery, Speedline Wheels and Pirelli.

Image courtesy of Jakob Ebrey

