Skip navigation

– European Formula 3 champion Lando Norris starts for the Carlin team
– Runner-up in European Championship, Joel Eriksson, to drive for the Motopark team
– Volkswagen the most successful engine supplier, with nine wins

From 16 to 19 November, the Volkswagen drivers will do battle for the trophy at the most prestigious Formula 3 race of the year, the 64th Macau Grand Prix. The motorsport classic in the Asian gambling paradise of Macau has always been regarded as the unofficial Formula 3 world championship, and was actually awarded World Cup status by the International Automobile Federation (FIA) in 2016. Following last year’s victory for António Félix da Costa (P), Volkswagen’s ninth success in Macau, the Wolfsburg-based manufacturer now has its sights set on adding win number ten this year.

“The race through the urban canyons of Macau is often akin to a game of roulette: who dares, can win – but even the smallest mistake is punished mercilessly. The race is the most extreme on the Formula 3 calendar and, thanks to the particularly high standard on display, has spawned countless motorsport superstars,” says Volkswagen Motorsport Director, Sven Smeets. “We are obviously hoping that one of the talented drivers with Volkswagen power will come out on top again, and take a big step towards a career as a professional racing driver in the process.”

13 youngsters “powered by Volkswagen” will be in action over the weekend. With reigning European Formula 3 champion Lando Norris (GB, Carlin) and the runner-up in this season’s Formula 3 European Championship, Joel Eriksson (S, Motopark with VEB), among the contingent, the most successful engine manufacturer in Macau is well equipped to challenge for win number ten. The youngsters have their sights set on a victory that would see them follow in the footsteps of former winners like Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher and David Coulthard, and would act as an important springboard to a potential career in Formula 1.

Very strong driver line-up for Volkswagen

European Formula 3 champion Lando Norris (GB), Jehan Daruvala (IND), Ferdinand Habsburg (A), Sacha Fenestraz (F) and Devlin DeFrancesco (GB) all drive for iconic British team Carlin. The Motopark with VEB team from Oschersleben lines up with Joel Eriksson (S), Tadasuke Makino (J), Marino Sato (RSM), Daniel Ticktum (GB) and Sérgio Sette Câmara (BR). Kenta Yamashita (J), Yuhi Sekuguchi (J) and Ryuji Kumita (J) are at the wheel for Japanese Formula 3 team B-Max Racing.

Schedule for the Formula 3 Grand Prix in Macau*

Thursday, 16 November 2017
09:35–10:15 Free practice 1
14:10–14:50 Qualifying 1

Friday, 17 November 2017
11:45–12:25 Free practice 2
15:25–16:05 Qualifying 2

Saturday, 18 November 2017
10:20–11:10 Qualifying race (10 laps)

Sunday, 19 November 2017
15:30–16:30 Main race (15 laps)

*(local time, UTC +8)

Macau: Volkswagen victories at the Formula 3 Grand Prix
1984 John Nielsen (DK), Ralt RT3 Volkswagen
1985 Maurício Gugelmin (BR), Ralt RT30 Volkswagen
1986 Andy Wallace (GB), Reynard 863 Volkswagen
1989 David Brabham (AUS), Ralt RT33 Volkswagen
1990 Michael Schumacher (D), Reynard 903 Volkswagen
2009 Edoardo Mortara (I), Dallara F309 Volkswagen
2010 Edoardo Mortara (I), Dallara F309 Volkswagen
2012 António Félix da Costa (P), Dallara F312 Volkswagen
2016 António Félix da Costa (P), Dallara F312 Volkswagen

Macau: The most successful engine manufacturers in Formula 3
Volkswagen: 9 wins, Toyota and Mercedes-Benz: 7 each, Opel: 4, Mugen-Honda: 3, Renault: 2, Alfa-Romeo and Fiat: 1 each.

%d bloggers like this: