Skip navigation

The asphalt rally championship returned with a bang at Epynt, with a quality entry tackling the military ranges for the opening round of the revamped championship. After the first pair of stages Damian Cole & Jamie Edwards (Fiesta WRC) could not be separated from Melvyn Evans & Mark Glennerster (Impreza WRC). Close behind were 2017 Tour of Epynt winners Bob Fowden & Aled Davies (Imprzea WRC), just 4 seconds back. The next pait of stages saw Evans take 11 seconds out of Cole, with Fowden drifting a second further back. Evans then took a further 15 seconds out of Cole on stage 5 whilst Fowden retired after getting his car beached.

The final pair of stages saw the weather close in with the top crews getting through before the rain fell. Evans extended his lead over Cole and a 2nd fastest time on the final stages was enough to secure victory by 39 seconds. Jason Pritchard & Phil Clarke (Fiesta S2000) were fastest on the final stage, on the rain soaked stage and completed the podium behind Evans  and Cole. Gareth James & Steffan Evans (Escort MkII) were the first 2WD crew home edging out Huw Reed & Anthony Hackett (Darrian T90 GTR) by 16 seconds.

%d bloggers like this: