Skip navigation

Stewart Proctor won both races of the second round of McLaren Automotive’s FIA accredited 2018 Pure McLaren GT4 Series featuring track-only Sports Series McLaren 570S GT4s that headed to Valencia over the weekend.

Proctor, who started each race from pole and soaked up pressure from drivers behind throughout the two 30-minute sprints, on the Spanish Circuit Ricardo Tormo.

In what turned out to be an eventful opening race on Saturday, Proctor held onto the lead from the start and spent much of the race managing the gap back to Mia Flewitt to take the victory on the 2.48-mile Spanish circuit.

Flewitt, who won both races in the opening round of the season at Spa-Francorchamps in April, finished second, after moving up the order from fourth on the grid, crossing the line only 5.6 seconds behind Proctor, who did not put a foot wrong when it mattered most in the final few laps.

Completing the podium was Issam Charrouf, who started ninth and went on the attack early. Pushing hard, he made up three spots at the start of the race, before taking fifth place just three laps later. He then spent the remaining laps fighting to nab an overall podium spot, and did so by getting past Sultan Ojjeh with a bold move at Turn 8 in the closing minutes.

His third placed finish saw him win the Bruce McLaren Cup class, and with a 1:43.243 on lap six, also claimed the ‘Speedy Kiwi’ award for the fastest lap set in the race.

Just off the podium was Ojjeh who ended up fourth overall, but second in the aforementioned Cup Class, which is reserved for drivers who have held their racing licence for less than twelve months and have not competed higher than club level in that specific year.

Completing the top five was Eric Hautemont, who too was involved in a lengthy battle late in the race for an overall podium spot. He bought his 570S GT4 home in fifth position to seal a place on the final step of the Bruce McLaren Cup class podium.

Then, in race two on Sunday, Proctor took home top honours again, with another lights-to-flag victory, set up by putting his 570S GT4 on pole earlier in the day.

It was not an easy victory though, as the pressure he had to deal with was greater during the second encounter in the Spanish sunshine for the Pure McLaren GT4 Series runners. In the end though, the winning margin was just 1.5 seconds over Ojjeh, who pushed hard, but was unable to snatch the top spot, settling for second overall and first in the Bruce McLaren Cup.

In his rear-view mirror for most of the race was Mia Flewitt. Another strong performance ensured she enjoyed a double-podium finish during the weekend and took the ‘Speedy Kiwi’ honours after a 1:43.124, the fastest race lap of the weekend, set in pursuit of Ojjeh on lap five.

Fourth (and second in the Bruce McLaren Cup class) by the end of the race was Kristina West, who stared from fourth on the grid. This came after she challenged for a top three spot early in the race, running three-wide into the first turn at the start, before having to focus her attention on Issam Charrouf behind after the opening scramble, who unfortunately failed to make the finish.

David Kyte took fifth overall and the final trophy in the Cup Class, ahead of Michael Petersen, who climbed to sixth in the closing stages of the race after a lengthy duel with Eric Hautemont.

The next stop on the Pure McLaren series calendar for drivers is the Algarve International Circuit in Portimao, Portugal on the weekend of June 22-24.

Pure McLaren GT Series Championship Standings
Mia Flewitt 70
Stewart Proctor 65
Mohamed Al Kalifa 28

Bruce McLaren Cup
Issam Charrouf 50
Michael Petersen 39
Sultan Ojjeh 37

2018 Pure McLaren GT Series Calendar:

Round 1: Circuit de Spa Francorchamps, Belgium, April 27-29
Round 2: Circuit Ricardo Tormo, Spain May 18 – 20
Round 3: Portimao Circuit, Portugal, June 22-24
Round 4: Circuit Paul Ricard, France, July 27 – 29
Round 5: Hockenheim, Germany, August 31 – 02
Round 6: Silverstone Circuit, UK, September 28-30

%d bloggers like this: