Skip navigation

– Mia Flewitt clinches inaugural FIA Pure McLaren GT Series title at Hockenheim
– Bruce McLaren Cup class wide open ahead of Silverstone finale
– Race field of McLaren 570S GT4 ‘arrive and drive’ track cars all supported by McLaren engineers, whether rented or owned

Mia Flewitt clinched the inaugural FIA Pure McLaren GT Series title last weekend in Germany, with both a win and second place finish at Hockenheim. This gave her an insurmountable 58-point lead over Stewart Proctor heading into the Silverstone finale later this month.

Flewitt’s win in the first race was a dominant one. In pursuit of her third victory this season, she started from pole after a 1:48.9 time in qualifying and having gapped the field early in the race, crossed the line first in her #18 570S GT4. She was pushed hard, however, finishing only just over a second ahead of guest driver, Guido Naumann.

She scored a full set of 22 points in the race – 20 for the victory, a point for pole and an additional point for setting the fastest lap of the race and receiving the ‘Speedy Kiwi’ award.

Behind Flewitt it was a frantic race. At the start Sultan Ojjeh overtook Naumann on the entry to the first turn but was not able to hold it and Naumann battled his way back to second later in the race. Third was still a strong result for Ojjeh though and ensured he secured the Bruce McLaren Cup class win in the process. The haul of points meant he headed into the second race just nine points off leader Issam Charrouf, who climbed as high as fifth place before spinning and dropping to tenth by the end of the race.

Just off the podium in fourth and fifth were Stewart Proctor and David Kyte, finishing in the same positions they occupied on the grid. In the process, Kyte finished second of the Bruce McLaren Cup drivers. Further back, Eric Hautemont took third in the class. Mohamed Al-Khalifa, meanwhile, starting from the back of the grid, battled the field valiantly to sixth.

Qualifying for race two on Sunday set the tone for the race to come, with just 0.7 seconds separating pole and ninth on the grid. Flewitt’s form continued; she started in third and went on take second place, securing her the full 20 points although finishing behind Christian Gebhardt, who as a ‘guest’ driver is ineligible for points. Flewitt crossed the line just 1.7 seconds behind Gebhardt, once again earning an extra point for setting the fastest lap, a 1:49.820 early in the 16-lap race.

Behind Flewitt, Ojjeh finished third and once again won the Bruce McLaren Cup class in the #75 570S GT4, meaning he now sits atop the class standings by just a single point heading into the finale, setting up a showdown at ‘The Home of British Motor Sport’ with Charrouf.

Michael Petersen – who claimed his first pole position in qualifying for race two – finished fourth overall and second in the Cup class standings, crucially ahead of Issam Charrouf who was involved in an incident mid-race with David Kyte, forcing the latter into retirement. Due to the incident, the safety car was brought out which closed the field up for the latter part of the race. After the safety car came in, Charrouf worked hard to take full advantage but a tussle with Mohamed Al-Khalifa opened the door for Jamie Corstorphine to overtake both drivers on lap 13.

Danny Henrey finished the race in ninth, with Klaus Halsig behind him in tenth and Eric Hautemont in eleventh.

The final two races of the 2018 season will take place on September 28-30 at Silverstone, UK and will see the Bruce McLaren Cup winner decided.

%d bloggers like this: