Skip navigation

Another fine day up in North Yorkshire saw an exciting finish to the final round of the BTRDA Championship. With the title decided in the favour of Matt Edwards, it was all to play for (especially as Edwards was in a Fiat 131 in the historic section of the rally). Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Fiesta) went fastest through the first two stages to open up a lead but Mat Smith & Giles Dykes (Fiesta R5) stormed back with fastest stage times on the remaining 3 stages. With Langdale to go the margin was just over 2 seconds in the favour of Payne but Smith took a superb victory by 1.2s on his 4WD debut. Steve Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta WRC) completing the podium almost a minute further back.

In the BTRDA classes Ross Brusby & Hannah McKillop (Escort MkII) took the 2WD victory with 11th overall. Chris Powell & Jim Lewis (Sunbeam) took the 1400 category by over a minute and a half. In the Land Rover event the top 2 were separated by just 0.9s with Chris McCarthy & Andy Carter victorious from Barry Connolly & Clive Allford.

In the Historic rally, which started on the Friday night, Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) had late dramas in the 2nd service and used up almost all of their time allowance but managed to get out to take victory. They won by 15.7s from Matt Edwards & Darren Garrod (Fiat 131) with local ace Steve Bannister & Dave Oldfield (Escort MkII) completing the podium half a minute back. The first crew home in category 2 were Chris Skill & Graham Wild (Escort MkI) in 4th overall whilst in the open class Phil Burton & Mal Capstick (Escort MkII) took victory and 5th overall. Lastly, back in 27th overall were Bob Bean & Miles Cartwright (Lotus Cortina) who took the honours in category 1.


%d bloggers like this: