Skip navigation

The elements threw all they had at the 88 crews who started the Cheviot Stages Rally, resulting in carnage throughout the day. With the MSA Asphalt Championship up for grabs stage 4 saw Daniel Harper & Chris Campbell (Mini WRC) leave the equation as they crashed out after aquaplaning off. Jason Pritchard & Phil Clarke (Focus WRC) still had to get a reasonable points score to overhaul Wayne Sisson for the title and with the tricky conditions that was not going to be easy. Peter Taylor & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta WRC) took the first stage and after being beaten on stage 2 by Harper they had a 9s lead after the first loop of stages.

With Harper out Taylor set a string of fastest times to lead by over 40 seconds after 7 stages, from Pritchard. Damien Cole & Jane Nicol (Focus WRC) had moved up to third but they went off on stage 6 so the top two were clear. Gordon Morrison & Calum MacPherson (Impreza) completed the top 3 but had the impressive Ross Brusby & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) close behind after an excellent run in their 2WD machinery.

Stage 8 was cancelled so just two loops and four stages remained. Stage 9 saw Brusby retire with a broken gearbox and then on stage 10 Taylor dropped over a minute and only just held on to the lead. On the final loop Taylor pushed on for the win with Pritchard eyeing the championship on the last stage, dropping to 26s behind in the final results. Morrison kept hold of his place on the podium with Barry Lindsay & Caroline Lodge (106 GTi) taking the 2WD victory in 8th overall. Special mention must go to Ray Cunningham & Jared Gill who finished 17th overall in their historic specification Mini Cooper S. A superb performance!

%d bloggers like this: