Skip navigation

Enniskillen Motor Club was recognised for the quality of its six annual events and its vibrant role in the local community. Established in 1964, the club now runs two successful stage rallies, the May Day Stages and Lakeland Stages, plus a navigation rally, a rally time trial, an autotest and a sprint.

The club is known for offering members value for money and continuity, generating loyalty in return. While looking after its members, the club has also been successful at engaging audiences through social media and the local press. The club also makes an annual donation to charity and this year’s beneficiary is the Fermanagh Sarcodosis Support Group.

Enniskillen Motor Club’s Brian D’Arcy said: “What a brilliant way to end a tremendously successful season of motorsport promotion in Northern Ireland. This honour reflects the continuing support of our competitors and the efforts of the many officials involved, including those of our sister clubs, without whose assistance it would just not have been possible. Enniskillen Motor Club Ltd. is thrilled and very proud to be the JLT Motorsport UK Club of the Year.”

Chelmsford Motor Club took second place in this year’s awards, with Devizes & District Motor Club taking third. The British Motorsport Marshals Club was Highly Commended.

Meanwhile John Comiskey was nominated by the Ulster Rally and awarded the Volunteer of the Year title for his many years’ exceptional commitment to motorsport. This year alone, John was involved in the Ulster, Donegal, Monaghan, Cavan, Sligo, Galway, Omagh, Enniskillen, Cookstown and Ballynahinch rallies, among many others including Wales Rally GB, volunteering across Motorsport UK and Motorsport Ireland events.

Each time John runs a stage, it involves attending club meetings, recruiting marshals, setting up the stage and then dismantling it. However, he drew particular praise for his approach to ‘PR’ on closed-road events, which entails visiting residents along the route. He has built personal relationships with locals, especially within the farming community, which makes it much easier to run closed-road stages.

John said: “It’s a tremendous honour to win this award, not just for me but a wider team of marshals. Awards like this cannot be achieved by an individual, so I accept it for the team I volunteer with. Volunteers are the ones who give up their time and dedicate so much effort to make our workloads as organisers easier; they make this possible. Without them I wouldn’t achieve anything on or off the stages.”

John will join members of Enniskillen Motor Club at the Motorsport UK Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club in January, to receive trophies and cash prizes.

A series of category winners in the Volunteer of the Year awards will also receive silverware at the Night of Champions. They are:

Clerks/Stewards: Paddy Haveron
Marshals: Denis Arundell
Other: Lucinda McKee.

%d bloggers like this: