Skip navigation

Wild weather struck the Lake District for the Malcolm Wilson Rally and the first 3 stages were blighted by snow, decimating the field in just 15 stage miles. Connor McCloskey & Noel O’Sullivan (Fiesta WRC) were fastest through Hobcarton from Ian Joel & Graeme Wood (Escort Cosworth) by 3 seconds. McCloskey dropped over 20s through Comb as Joel took the lead from Petr Krizan & Lukas Sintal (Evo IX) who were fastest through Comb. The top two stayed as they were after Greystoke, with Joel extending his lead, with McCloskey retiring after SS3.

Meanwhile the top 3 seeds had all suffered different issues with Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) dropping time in Greystoke and outside the top 10 overall. Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Fiesta) were just ahead of Thorburn after a tricky opening set of stages but it was Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta WRC) who suffered most as they slipped off the stage early in Comb and have two non finishes from two starts in the 2019 BTRDA Series.

With the conditions improving dramatically in the afternoon Grizedale proved to be the platform for a Thorburn comeback. He set fastest times on all 3 stages, taking the long stage by 57s from the next fastest crew. Thorburn now held a minute lead over Joel with Krizan 3rd. Thorburn then went fastest through Broughton Moor before taking it easier through Greystoke 2 to secure victory. Joel finished a superb 2nd overall meanwhile it was heartache for Krizan as Richard Hill & Steffan Evans (Impreza) snatched the final podium place, on the final stage.

In the classes Scott Faulkner & Gareth Parry (Evo IX) were 5th overall and won group N, whilst George Lepley & Tom Woodburn (Avenger) proved the Cambrian was no freak result as they were the first 2WD crew home in 11th overall, as well as being the first historic crew also. Rob Smith & Alun Cook (Escort MkII) were just behind in 12th overall after a reasonable break since their last gravel rally. 13th overall and 3rd 2WD crew home Zak Hughes & Tom Wood (Fiesta ST) very pleased to complete the podium. Callum Black & Michael Gilbey (ZR) were the frist 1400 crew home in 15th overall.

%d bloggers like this: