Skip navigation

After a week of unseasonably dry and warm weather across the UK saw the Dyfi complex in perfect condition for the largely 2WD field. Dust could pose a problem though and with the 2WD reverse seeded then the top runners would not be immune. Osian Pryce & Dale Furniss (Escort MkII) set the stages alight going fastest through all 8 stages, albeit joint fastest time on the final stage. Their victory margin was 37s over Nick Elliott & Dave Price with Joe Price & Chris Brooks a further 34s back, completing an all Escort MkII podium. Stanley Orr & Grahame Henderson (Escort MkI) took category 2 in 4th overall whilst Ken Davies & Alan Jones (Amazon) were victorious in category 1.

With over half the field competing in the National B rally, including the 4WD crews, it was Matthew Hirst & Declan Dear (Evo IX) who made the perfect comeback after their stage 1 exit on the Malcolm Wilson Rally, just 3 weeks earlier. It was a close run thing though as Freddie Milne (Evo IX) showed great pace on his first visit to Dyfi, only 13s behind, co-driven by Patrick Walsh. Completing the top 3 were Ieuan Rowlands & Emyr Hall who returned to their non-Historic specification Escort MkII. They had been keeping an eye on Pryce’s times and after falling 7s behind at service they were level going in to the final stage. Rowlands edged ahead of Pryce to take the honour of first 2WD crew home by just 2s.

%d bloggers like this: