Skip navigation

Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship

The 2019 championship kicked off at Brands Hatch as Josh Cook, Andrew Jordan and Rory Butcher claimed a win apiece on a breathless afternoon of racing.

Cook won the opener after getting his tyre tactics spot on, as others switched to wet tyres with fog and drizzle shrouding the circuit. Jake Hill made his way into second, with Tom Chilton following him home.

Jordan then scored the first victory for the all-new BMW 330i M Sport as he surged his way through from 15th on the grid in race two. Ashley Sutton finished side-by-side with Adam Morgan’s Mercedes, leaving a photo finish to confirm Sutton’s second place by just 0.022s from Morgan.

Butcher claimed victory in the final encounter after Chilton was handed a post-race penalty. Stephen Jelley completed the podium – his first since winning at Rockingham in 2009 and the first ever for Team Parker Racing in the BTCC.

Cook leads the standings into rounds four, five and six at Donington Park on 27/28 April.

Round 1
1 Josh Cook (GBR) BTC Racing 24 laps
2 Jake Hill (GBR) +2.723s
3 Tom Chilton (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +3.850s

Round 2
1 Andrew Jordan (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing 24 laps
2 Ashley Sutton (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +9.728s
3 Adam Morgan (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +9.750s

Round 3
1 Rory Butcher (GBR) Cobra Sport amd autoaid/RCIB Insurance 24 laps
2 Tom Chilton (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +3.005s
3 Stephen Jelley (GBR) Team Parker Racing +7.926s

Championship standings
1 Josh Cook – 44 points
2 Tom Chilton – 40
3 Stephen Jelley – 35

British F4 Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost

Luke Browning, Louis Foster and Sebastian Alvarez shared the wins as the curtain rose on the 2019 F4 season.

Browning stormed to victory from the fifth row of the grid in an action-packed opening race at Brands Hatch. Alvarez finished second, with Zane Maloney in third on his debut for Carlin.

A last corner clash between Browning and Maloney on the final lap proved to be the talking point of the second race, with Foster retrospectively handed a maiden win following judicial action. Alvarez and
Browning completed the podium.

Sebastian Alvarez claimed victory, holding off Maloney in a race-long fight. Carter Williams finished third.

Round 1
1 Luke Browning / GBR / Richardson Racing / 20m24.401s (78.13mph)
2 Sebastian Alvarez / MEX / Double R Racing / +3.705s
3 Zane Maloney / BRB / Carlin / +4.207s

Round 2
1 Louis Foster / GBR / Double R Racing / 20m14.316s (78.79mph)
2 Sebastian Alvarez / MEX / Double R Racing / +2.368s
3 Luke Browning / GBR / Richardson Racing / +5.359s

Round 3
1 Sebastian Alvarez / MEX / Double R Racing / 20m31.169s (91.83mph)
2 Zane Maloney / BRB / Carlin / +1.104s
3 Carter Williams / USA / JHR Developments / +4.271s

Championship standings
1 Sebastian Alvarez – 61 points
2 Luke Browning – 46
3 Louis Foster – 43

Britpart British Cross Country Championship

Adrian Marfell and Paul Bartleman won the opening round at Walters Arena in South Wales.

Justin Birchall and Jonny Koonja led until electrical issues with their Lofthouse Freelander dropped them to second. This, plus a puncture early on day two ended their hopes of fighting for the lead.

Andy Degiulio held third place overnight but his Milner R5 crashed out of the event on day two which promoted Mark Jacques to third.

Marfell commented: “It’s been a very enjoyable event, the course was a real challenge. It’s nice to see the British championship back and the organising team have done a great job.”

1 Adrian Marfell/Paul Bartleman (Fouquet-Nissan) 2h29m16s
2 Justin Birchall/Jonny Koonja (Lofthouse Freelander) 2h30m25s
3 Mark Jacques/Adam Nicholson (Lofthouse LS3) 2h39m03s

McGrady Insurance NI Rally Championship

Desi Henry and Liam Moynihan won the Eakin Bros Brian James Trailers Stages Rally, round three of the championship.

The Skoda Fabia R5 mounted crew grabbed the lead from the start and never looked back as they powered to a 14.1-second win over Callum Devine and Brian Hoy.

Devine went on to claim second overall and was much happier in his car at the end of the day after making some setup changes. He struggled with his Fiesta’s handling over stages one and two but after the setup was adjusted in service, Devine was flying.

Kevin Eves sprung a massive surprise in his Toyota Corolla to take third overall as he pulled out all the stops on the final stage.

1 Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan (Fabia R5)
2 Callum Devine/Brian Hoy (Fiesta) +14.1s
3 Kevin Eves/Chris Melly (Corolla) +1m29.4s

The BTCC is back, courtesy of
Adrian Marfell and Paul Bartleman in action, courtesy of Songasport

%d bloggers like this: