Skip navigation

It was a day of contrasts in South Wales as the stages were choked with dust first thing and then in the afternoon rain moved in to dampen the dust down and turn the stages slippery. Dylan Davies & Mark Glennerster (Fiesta R5) were the class of the field and took victory by 53s from Russ Thompson & Andy Murphy (Evo IX) but the tight battle was in the Historics. Simon Webster & Jez Rogers (Escort MkII) took a final stage victory from Steve Bennett & Osian Owen (Escort MkII) by 2s after trailing them by a single second after the 5th of the 6 stages. Rudi Lancaster & Guy Weaver (Escort MkII) completed the podium just 21s off the leadin pair.

Adrian Hetherington & Ronan O’Neill (Escort MkII) had been spectacular all day and a spin in front of our position on stage 2 probably accounted for the 9s they finished behind the Lancaster, thus missing out on the Historic podium. Albeit in an Escort MkII Tom Llewellin & Pat Walsh were the 3rd crew home in the National B section of the rally and 1st 2WD crew home in that section. John Perrott & Andrew Sankey (Escort MkI) took category 2 victory with Ken Davies & Alan Jones (Amazon) victorious in category 1.

%d bloggers like this: