Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 29th, 2019

The history books will show that the 55th Ypres Rally was a podium lock out for Volkswagen with the Polo R5 powering 4 of the final top 5 crews. It was Craig Breen & Paul Nagle who ended up taking victory by just over 45s from Kevin Abbring & Veronique Hostens. Abbring had set fastest time on the opening 3 stages but a costly loss of time on the 4th stage saw Breen take the lead, which he never relinquished. Abbring was on the fightback for the rest of the event, setting 10 fastest stage times to Breen’s 9. Third overall were Kris Princen & Bram Eelbode, just 13s behind. Read More »

A total of 36 crews took to the start line of the Ypres Historic Rally, with just 21 reaching the finish. Defying their seeding Bjorn Syx & Ari Vanrobaeys (M3 E30) took victory by over a minute and a half from ‘Lucky’ & Fabrizia Pons (Delta Integrale) with over a minute further back, completing the podium places, Christophe Merlevede & Giljan Vandromme (M3 E30). There was also another historic field of cars taking a slightly shorter event, the Classic Rally, which was won by Cedriek Merlevede & Jeffrey Vandenbussche (Ascona) by just 5.7s from the Escort MkII of Dirk Deveux & Eddy Smeets. Read More »