Skip navigation

Grey clouds hung over the Epynt military ranges for the Nicky Grist Stages. Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) were on the cusp of taking the championship with a perfect score, but they had 8 tricky stages to complete. The first stage went to plan but stage 2 saw Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta WRC) go fastest to close in on Thorburn. Stage 3 saw Thorburn attack and he took 14 seconds out of Petch and by the service break he held a 21s lead with another fastest stage time. 3 more fastest stage times across stages 5-7 saw Thorburn extend his lead to over a minute and a 3rd fastest time saw Thorburn & Beaton home to victory and a perfect score to confirm the 2019 championship title.

Petch kept it going to take 2nd place but behind him it was a close battle between Sam Bilham & Patrick Walsh (Fiesta R5) and Brendan Cumiskey & Liam Moynihan (Fiesta WRC) for the final podium spot. Bilham was 3rd on the opening stage but Cumiskey moved ahead on stage 2 and held the advantage until the service break. Cumiskey was faster on stage 5 but Bilham started to close through stages 6 & 7 and a fastest stage time on stage 8 saw him snatch 3rd by 3s.

In the 2WD field there was a bumper entry of BHRC crews but it was Andy Davison & Tom Murphy (Sunbeam VXR) who came out on top and took victory by 18s and 14th overall from Jason Pritchard & Steve McPhee (Escort MkII), who in turn were the first historic crew home. Just 4s behind were George Lepley & Tom Woodburn (Avenger) who completed the top 3, were 16th overall, but more importantly sealed the Silver Star crown. The first 1400 crew home were Chris Powell & Jim Lewis (Sunbeam) in 28th overall.

%d bloggers like this: