Skip navigation

The Harry Flatters saw a 90 car field take to the dry stages of the Epynt ranges. Daniel Jones & Kevin Lewis (Escort MkII) were fastest Historic crew through the first stage but a returning Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) grabbed the lead and held a 1s advantage at first service. They were close on the next two stages but a stunning stage saw Jones move ahead. He then pushed the margin out further to take the National A part of the rally by 40s. Elliott meanwhile was embroiled in a tight battle, briefly losing 2nd place to Stanley Orr & Graham Henderson (Escort MkI) on stage 9 before Orr retired after stage 10. Elliott also had a hard charging Joe Price & Chris Brooks (Escort MkII) to contend with and after the 11th and final stage the margin was just 3s.

Completing the BHRC podium were Simon Webster & Jex Rogers (Escort MkII) in 4th place and just 1s behind Price. Only 7s back in 5th place was one of the drives of the day as David Kynaston & Val Thompson in the venerable Triumph TR7 V8. In category 2 Chris Skill & Tom Murphy (Escort MkI) took victory by 25s with category 1 being taken by Ken Davies & Alan Jones (Cortina).

The National B side of the rally saw Damian Cole & Paul Spooner (Fiesta WRC) take a 13s victory from Bob Fowden & Aled Davies (Impreza WRC). The pair had been close all rally but the longer stages at the end of the event saw Cole pull out his advantage to seal another win over Epynt. Behind John Indri & Mathew Smalley (Mirage) were in a close battle with Mark Straker & Ian Meakin (Darrian T90 GT R5) but some time loses mid rally saw Straker move ahead and secure the final podium spot. Tony Rees & Ian Taylor (Darrian GTR+) took 4th place ahead of Indri with just 21s separating 3rd to 5th.

%d bloggers like this: