Skip navigation

The Tyneside saw a 3 way battle, at the head of the field, go all the way from the opening stage to the finish. Dan Harper & Chris Campbell (Mini JCW WRC) were fastest on the 1st stage and took the early lead but it would be the only stage win they would take. Stage 2 Tom Preston & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta WRC) set joint fastest stage time with Harper before Rory Young & Allan Cathers (Fiesta R5) take stage 3 and the rally lead. Preston then went fastest on stage 4 to take the lead from Young.

Preston then went on set fastest time on all but two of the remaining stages to take victory by 12s. Young was fastest on the other two stages and kept Preston honest to finish 2nd with Harper 14s back in the final podium place. After a penultimate stage retirement robbed Ross Brusby & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) of a superb top 5 finish, it was Alistair & Andrew Hutchinson (Clio) who were first 2WD crew home in 7th overall.

%d bloggers like this: