Skip navigation

The Trackrod was once again the final round of the BTRDA and BHRC championships. With the BTRDA decided, for the main titles, all eyes were on the BHRC as 5 drivers could take the title. Matt Edwards & Hamish Campbell (131 Abarth) were fastest through the opening Friday night test but Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) hit back on Saturday and the pair swapped fastest stage times leaving Robinson just under 4 seconds ahead going in to the final stage. A spin and stall in front of our position didn’t help and the best part of 17 seconds were dropped, leaving Robinson victorious by just over 21s. Steve Bannister & Callum Atkinson (Escort MkII) completed the podium but all eyes were behind them as none of the top 3 were either registered or in with a shot of the title.

Steve Bennett & Osian Owen (Escort MkII) were 4th with Adrian Hetherington & Ronan O’Neill (Escort MkII) 5th and the highest finsihing title contenders. However 6th place was more than enough for Simon Webster & Jez Rogers (Escort MkII) as they clinched the title from 7th place finishers Stanley Orr & Graham Henderson (Escort MkI). In the Land Rover section of the rally Ian Linford & Demelza Scholes (Freelander) took victory.

In the BTRDA section of the rally Ollie Mellors & Ian Windress (Iriz R5) backed up their Woodpecker win with another on the Trackrod. They set fastest times on the opening 3 stages and that was enough to see them victorious. 2018 Trackrod winners Mat Smith & Giles Dykes (Fiesta R5) started slow and were only 7th after the opening stage but they clawed their way back up the order on the following two stages. Fastest times on the final pair of stages were enough for them to grab 2nd overall from Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Fiesta WRC), who in turn completed the podium.

11th place overall Scott Faulkner & Gareth Parry (Evo IX) was enough for them to secure the production class in the championship. Just behind them were the first 2WD crew home, Ross Brusby & Dave Robson (Escort MkII). 1400 class winners were Steve Black & Paul Morris, finishing 27th overall in their Ignis.

%d bloggers like this: