Skip navigation

A capacity entry once again gathered at Oulton Park for the opening round of the circuit rally championship. Steve Simpson & Pat Walsh (Fiesta R5) took victory by 37s but after going 2nd fastest on the 1st stage they dropped out of the top 3 and did not return into the podium positions until stage 4. Frank Bird & Jack Morton (Focus WRC) were the early leaders and going in to stage 5 they held a 10s lead over Matt Edwards & Rhys Stoneman (Fiesta R5). A turbo fault saw the Focus limp out of stage 5 and in to retirement, leaving Edwards clear in 1st overall. He would retire on the following stage though, with a broken manifold and Simpson eased home to victory.

Behind there was a fierce battle for the rest of the podium places with only 5s separating 2nd to 4th. Andy Scott & Marc Fowler (Fiesta WRC) stepped in to Kevin Procters car and had slipped to 4th place after stage 7. A big push through the final two stages saw Scott secure 2nd place. Graham Coffey & Sam Colman (Fiesta WRC) held on to 3rd overall by a single second from James Self & Ian Davis (Fiesta R5) who gained a second on the final stage to make it really tight. First 2WD crew home and 5th overall were Joshua & Tamsyn Davey (Darrian T90) who had been 3rd overall before the lunch break.

%d bloggers like this: