Skip navigation

British driver Lewis Hamilton has received the prestigious Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for the tenth time, adding to his record-breaking seventh British Grand Prix win last weekend.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually by Motorsport UK to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain’s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died in a road accident a year later.

19 different drivers have won the honour during the past 61 years, and on 24 of those occasions the recipient was also World Champion in the same year. Lewis Hamilton is firmly inscribed on the roll of honour alongside other Commonwealth greats including, Sir Stirling Moss, Jack Brabham, Jim Clark, Sir Jackie Stewart, Alan Jones, Damon Hill, Nigel Mansell, Jacques Villeneuve and Jenson Button. After Hamilton, Mansell is the next most successful recipient with seven wins.

This latest win recognises Hamilton’s stellar 2019 season, in which he won 11 races, 17 podiums and five pole positions on his way to his sixth Formula One World Drivers’ Championship title. Lewis’ success also helped guide his team Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 to a sixth-straight constructors’ title, further showcasing their dominance during the Hybrid F1 era.

The hallmarked gilt and silver trophy, designed by Goldsmiths’ freeman K. Lesson, features a Union Jack and chequered flags and is mounted on a wooden pedestal.

Hugh Chambers, Motorsport UK, CEO said, “It is a great pleasure for Motorsport UK to present this award to Lewis on this record tenth occasion. Not only has he been one of the most dominant, consistent and successful drivers in recent years, he is also a fantastic ambassador not only for our sport, but our country. His achievements are the best possible example to future generations of young drivers looking to follow in his footsteps. I would like to congratulate Lewis on his seventh British Grand Prix win, and wish him well for the upcoming Formula One 70^th Anniversary Grand Prix at Silverstone this weekend.”

The Formula One 70th Anniversary Grand Prix (7-9 August) is round five of the 2020 Formula One season, and is a fitting tribute to the birthplace of the sport in 1950.

Previous Winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

1959 Jack Brabham (AUS) * 1990 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1960 Jack Brabham (AUS) * 1991 Nigel Mansell (GB)
1961 Stirling Moss (GB) 1992 Nigel Mansell (GB) *
1962 Graham Hill (GB) * 1993 Damon Hill (GB)
1963 Jim Clark (GB) * 1994 Damon Hill (GB)
1964 John Surtees (GB) * 1995 Damon Hill (GB)
1965 Jim Clark (GB) * 1996 Damon Hill (GB) *
1966 Jack Brabham (AUS) * 1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *
1967 Denny Hulme (NZ) * 1998 David Coulthard (GB)
1968 Graham Hill (GB) * 1999 Eddie Irvine (GB)
1969 Jackie Stewart (GB) * 2000 David Coulthard (GB)
1970 Denny Hulme (NZ) 2001 David Coulthard (GB)
1971 Jackie Stewart (GB) * 2002 David Coulthard (GB)
1972 Jackie Stewart (GB) 2003 David Coulthard (GB)
1973 Jackie Stewart (GB) * 2004 Jenson Button (GB)
1974 Denny Hulme (NZ) 2005 Jenson Button (GB)
1975 James Hunt (GB) 2006 Jenson Button (GB)
1976 James Hunt (GB) * 2007 Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1977 James Hunt (GB) 2008 Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1978 John Watson (GB) 2009 Jenson Button (GB)*
1979 Alan Jones (AUS) 2010 Mark Webber (AUS)
1980 Alan Jones (AUS) * 2011 Jenson Button (GB)
1981 Alan Jones (AUS) 2012 Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1982 John Watson (GB) 2013 Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1983 John Watson (GB) 2014 Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1984 Derek Warwick (GB) 2015 Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1985 Nigel Mansell (GB) 2016 Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1986 Nigel Mansell (GB) 2017 Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1987 Nigel Mansell (GB) 2018 Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1988 Derek Warwick (GB) 2019 Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1989 Nigel Mansell (GB)
* denotes World Champion

%d bloggers like this: