Skip navigation

The FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy will begin this weekend with the Swecon World Rallycross of Sweden at Holjes.

The effects of the COVID-19 pandemic have delayed the start of the season and led to a revised schedule that includes 10 events taking place over seven weekends.

In Sweden the World Championship will complete rounds one and two with a full event – comprising three rounds of qualifying races, semi-finals and the final – taking place each day.

The supporting FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercar and Projekt E series will complete the usual schedule of one event taking place over two days, with two qualifiers on Saturday, the remaining two qualifiers, semi-finals and finals on Sunday.

FIA World Ralycross Champion Timmy Hansen will begin the defence of the title he won in dramatic circumstances in Cape Town last November. Entering the last event of the year in a three-way battle for the title, Hansen ended the season level on points with Andreas Bakkerud, the title decided in favour of the Swedish driver as he won four events to Bakkerud’s single victory. Hansen will again be joined at Team Hansen by younger brother Kevin who was the third player in last year’s title battle.

The entry for the first event contains 17 drivers, including two returning former champions. Johan Kristoffersson, World Champion in 2017 and 2018, is back in World RX with the VW Polo Supercar he raced two years ago.

KYB Team JC has recruited 2016 World Champion Mattias Ekstrom as substitute for Janis Baumanis who has had to drop out of the championship at the last moment because of budget issues caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Ekstrom races alongside 2019 European Champion Robin Larsson.

The 2019 World RX of Sweden was won by Sebastian Eriksson and the Swede returns to his home track this year where he will race an Olsbergs MSE Honda Civic in a bid to repeat the win.

Ferratum Team will join the World Championship for all events, its new car driven by Finn Jani Paasonen.

Niclas Gronholm and Timur Timerzyanov won three events for GRX Taneco in 2019 and return for the 2020 season. In Sweden they are joined by a third Hyundai i20 Supercar from the GRX SET stable with multiple European Champion Krisztian Szabo at the wheel.

A pair of Renault Clios from Unkorrupted will be driven by Frenchman Guerlain Chicherit and Lithunanian Rokas Baciuska.

Timo Scheider returns with ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport, the team this year expanded to two cars with Rene Muennich handling the second of its Seat Ibizas.

GCK Bilstein has a solo Renault Megane for Anton Marklund while the Monster Energy GCK RX Cartel entry is for two further Meganes in the hands of Bakkerud and Liam Doran.

Sweden forms opening event of the three-round FIA European Rallycross Championship which will include events in Latvia and Belgium.

Travel restrictions and other issues have reduced the 21-car entry to 16 expected starters.

Thomas Bryntesson (Volkswagen Polo) and JB Dubourg (Peuegot 208) led the chase of Larsson last year, Dubourg winning the event in Latvia.

Oliver Eriksson steps up to Euro Supercar with a Ford Fiesta having claimed the title in the RX2 feeder series in 2018 and 2019. He will be joined by RX2 event winner Ben-Philip Gundersen (Audi S1) in the entry that includes drivers from seven different countries.

The entry is also diverse; it includes younger Danish racer Tobias Daarbak (Ford Fiesta), former WRC-2 Champion Pontus Tidemand (VW Polo) and 74-year-old Swedish motor sport legend Per Eklund (VW Beetle).

Electric racecars join the World RX events for the first time in 2020.

Projekt E is a new International Series for all-electric cars that will appear in Sweden, Latvia, Belgium and Germany as rallycross embraces electric cars.

Incorporating traditional values by allowing teams to create cars using a wide range of production models, Projekt E specifies a battery and powertrain kit from Austrian company STARD.

The kits comprises three electric motors, two used on the rear axle, and one on the front, and produces a 450kW racecar with 1000Nm of torque.

The landmark first event will feature three cars, the entry led by American star Ken Block who is joined by British rally driver Natalie Barratt and Austrian rally champion Hermann Neubauer. All three will drive Ford Fiesta-based cars. The debut of the new Citroen C3 ERX has now been postponed until round two in Riga.

Holjes, in the Varmland region of Sweden. Because of control measures around the COVID-19 pandemic the event is closed to spectators.

Racing from 1030 Saturday and 0950 Sunday, see schedule below for more details.

The livestream for the events will be carried on the World RX Facebook and YouTube channels: (
Watch social media channels (below) for more details on livestream and broadcast.

Facebook: fiaworldrallycross
Instagram: fiaworldrx
Twitter: @fiaworldrx

All event results appear on the above page of the website, just select the event you are interested in.

For PDF files, scroll down and look to the right side of the page.

This page is ‘live’ so documents will appear here immediately they are produced.

As above, select the event you are interested in and then click the link to the live timing feed.


%d bloggers like this: