Skip navigation

Motorsport UK are delighted to announce that entries are open for the 2020 Young Journalist and Young Photographer of the Year Awards.

Established in 2002, the governing body’s young media awards are designed to encourage and inspire the next generation of reporters and photographers working within UK motorsport.

An expert panel will consider the applications, with each winner receiving a trophy, a cheque for £1,000 and exclusive opportunities to work with Motorsport UK. Winners will also receive one year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW), the world’s largest association of automotive editorial professionals.

New for 2020 will be Scholarship Prizes courtesy of Motorsport News. The prizes will be awarded to the journalist and photographer showing the most potential, with the two young recipients being given paid work by the prestigious title to cover a UK motorsport event in 2021.

Candidates must be aged 30 or under on 1 January 2021 and must be able to demonstrate published work involving UK motorsport. Each applicant is required to submit a minimum of three published articles or five photographs from either 2019 or 2020. Outlets can be specialist or general, national or regional, as well as online.

2019 Young Photographer of the Year, Lou Johnson, said: “When I was announced as Young Motorsport Photographer of the Year last year, I don’t think I was quite prepared for the reception it would get. My work was suddenly being seen by a much larger audience, and the response was very humbling and unexpected. While this year hasn’t been the best for anyone, as the world attempts to navigate the pandemic, it certainly hasn’t been without its highlights. I hope the award and recognition I received will continue to create interesting conversations for me, and perhaps open more doors within the industry.”

Application forms and further information can be found HERE ( and entries must be received by the Motorsport UK Communications Team no later than Monday 4 January 2021 at 17:30.

%d bloggers like this: