Skip navigation

The 2021 Fuchs Lubricants British Historic Rally champion will be crowned this weekend at the final round of the season, the Carlisle Stages [23 October].

With the challenges presented to the series organisers this year thanks to the pandemic, the popular championship would be reduced to just three counting rounds. But heading to the finale’ in the box seat, is round one and two winners Nick Elliott and Dave Price.

Elliott heads to the Kielder Forest-based event with a slender ten-point lead over the chasing Ben Friend and co-driver Cliff Simmons but makes the brave choice to swap to a Fiat 131 Abarth for the grand slam.

After taking a maximum points haul at the Three Shires Stages and Trackrod Rally Yorkshire, Elliott is arguably on fine form but has not driven the impressive Fiat since 2018, giving the championship a unique twist as the season draws to a close.

However, Friend will need Elliott to finish well down the order to seal the deal and his maiden BHRC title but with a confidence-boosting amount of seat time already this year, the title fight is set to go down to the wire in the notoriously difficult forest tests.

Also technically in with a shout of top honours are Barry Stevenson Wheeler and John Pickavance. The Escort MK2 duo will need misfortune to befall the top two protagonists to scoop the title despite two third place finishes so far in 2021.

Reigning champions Simon Webster and Jez Rogers will aim to put their Yorkshire retirement to the back of their mind with the debut of a new Ford Escort Mk2 ahead of the Roger Albert Clark Rally outing in November. Whilst they cannot defend their title, their presence could certainly upset the fight for the honours.

Chris Browne and Ali Cornwell-Browne are fresh from a Category 2 [cars between 1968-1975] victory in their Ford Escort Mk1 at the Trackrod and will be aiming to repeat that success, whilst Bob Bean and co-driver Colin Thompson will certainly be aiming for a similar result in their Category 1 [cars up to 1968] Lotus Cortina.

Class D2 contenders Malcolm and Ronald Mounsey also contest the season curtain call in their Sunbeam Ti and should seal the class title by taking the start.

The popular all-gravel stage rally will run two-wheel-drive competitors first on the road in reverse seeded order followed by four wheeled-drive contenders in the traditional seeded format.

Five stages and 43 stage miles are on offer in the Kielder Forest complex, kicked off by a ceremonial start at Kielder Castle which will also host the BHRC service area. Greenside Car Park, which is located opposite the Leaplish Waterside Park, will be home to the event service area for the KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Championship crews.

For more information on any of the Championships promoted by the RACMRC, please visit:

%d bloggers like this: