Skip navigation

Just two weeks after conquering the fast roads of the Otterburn military ranges, Cumbrian rally driver Frank Bird was back in rally action this weekend where he rocketed to another comprehensive victory on the Neil Howard Memorial Stages Rally, sponsored by Graham Coffey & Co. Solicitors, at Oulton Park in Cheshire.

The 22 year old caused fireworks of his own making by sweeping aside the opposition on the opening round of the Motorsport News Circuit Rally Championship with MSVR with ease to take maximum points in his quest for the title.

Frank, from Penrith, along with Lake District-based co-driver Jack Morton were having only their second outing in the Dom Buckley Motorsport-prepared and Frank Bird Poultry-backed Ford Fiesta Rally2 with assistance from Hager, Fuchs Titan Oils, Aico and Yuasa, as the pair took on the established stars of the series whilst leading from start to finish once again.

Quickest on the opening stage by six seconds, the pair steadily built their lead throughout the eight stages to emerge victorious by over a minute at the finish after setting fastest time on all stages.

Frank has done very little rallying this year due to his commitments in the Fanatec GT World Cup Europe Sprint and Endurance Championships at the wheel of the Team WRT Audi R8 LMS and this was only the second time competing in an asphalt rally since May, whereby he has won both of them.

Frank Bird: “We had a good run with no problems to report at all. I was using the Michelin tyres as stipulated by the championship for the first time, so they were new to me, but the car ran faultlessly, and Jack as ever did a great job on the notes. I can’t do all the rounds of the series so it’s important to get maximum points in the ones we do so this is a great start. Thanks to the team, our sponsors and of course my dad for these opportunities.”

Results – Neil Howard Memorial Stages Rally, Oulton Park

1 Frank Bird/Jack Morton (Ford Fiesta Rally2) 50 mins 47 secs
2 Joe Cunningham/Josh Beer (Ford Fiesta) +1:06
3 Neil Roskell/Shaun Layland (Ford Fiesta R5) +1:40
4 Barry Morris/Marc Fowler (Darrian T90 GTR) +2:45
5 Darrell Taylor/Dylan Thomas (Ford Fiesta Rally2) +3:08
6 Graham Coffey/Matt Daniels (Ford Fiesta S2000T) +3:12

%d bloggers like this: