Skip navigation

After a two year absence the Alan Healy was back on and it was the climax of the circuit rally championship. Neil Roskell & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta R5) started as car no.1 and as the favourites to win the title. 2nd fastest on the opener and joint fastest on the 2nd stage was a good start but fastest over those two tests were title rivals Barry Morris & Tom Hutchings (Darrian T90 GTR+). The battle continued over the following stages with fastest times being shared and Morris held a 7s at the lunchbreak. John Griffiths & Nigel Wetton (Fiesta R5) were in the battle too as they took a stage win too and were just 2s behind Roskell in 3rd.

With 4 stages to go Griffiths went fastest on stage 6 to snatch 2nd place but it was okay as Roskell still had enough to take the championship by 1 point. Morris did all he could do and exchanged fastest times with Griffiths as the pair ended up 1st and 2nd overall, with Morris victorious by 7s. Roskell slipped back further and despite Andy Scott & Tom Woodburn (Fiesta S2000) closing in, Roskell held on to 3rd overall to take the circuit champiosnhip title.

%d bloggers like this: