Skip navigation

Rebranded as the Manx Rally, 68 crews were entered for the return to rallying, in May, on the Isle of Man. There was drama before the rally started as five time winners Jason Pritchard & Phil Clarke (Focus WRC) retired on shakedown. So it Neil Roskell & Andrew Roughead (Fiesta R5) who were first on the road but that was SS2, as SS1 was cancelled due to a road accident before the stage started, meaning the police needed to divert normal road traffic via stage route.

On the opening stage it was Simon Bowen & Craig Simkiss (Fiesta S2000 Turbo) who went fastest before Roskell hit back on SS3 to take the lead. Bowen was then fastest on SS4 but retired on SS5 so at the end of the 6th stage, and the opening night, it was Roskell who lead by over a minute from Gavin Edwards & Caron Tomlinson (Escort MkII).

8 more stages followed on Saturday and Edwards had a big off on the opening stage which promoted Rory & Paul McCann (Civic) up to 2nd place with George Collister & Ian Postlethwaite (325i E30) completing the podium. As the event progressed Roskell drew further away and took victory by over four and a half minutes. 2nd place came down to the final stage though as McCann was fighting and ailing car and Collister pipped him on the final stage to finish 2.8s ahead.

%d bloggers like this: