Skip navigation

Five-times Scottish Rally Champion David Bogie stormed to victory at the Dunoon Presents Argyll Rally [24/25 June] last weekend, taking his MINI JCW WRC to a maiden Argyll Rally win.

Bogie would team up with co-driver Cammy Fair for the first time, and despite a slow start through the tricky Dunoon Town street stage, eventually finished over a minute ahead of nearest rivals David Henderson and Chris Lees. Michael Binnie and Claire Mole rounded out the top three in their Mitsubishi Evo IX.

Over 140 of some of the UK’s best sealed-surface drivers assembled in Dunoon to tackle two days of all-action rallying around the Cowal Peninsula. The popular event would run for a second year on the region’s closed roads after previously running as a Forest-based event and was buoyed by inclusion in the KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Championship, Protyre Motorsport UK Asphalt Rally Championship, SD34 MSG Stage Rally Championship, AS Performance North of England Tarmacadam Rally Championship and the HRCR Mini Sport Cup.

The prestigious event would kick off with two stages around the Dunoon town centre itself on Friday evening and whilst only short, it would also test drivers to the limit with several coming unstuck on the tricky opener. It would be Mark Kelly/Will Atkins who led the way in their Fiesta R5 although the top five were only separated by three seconds.

Two more stages followed that night and as darkness fell, the leaderboard began to change. Kelly would go fastest in the third test and the first proper moorland stage but would leave the road on the last stage of the evening, promoting Bogie into the lead as crews headed into the overnight halt.

Eight arduous stages followed on Saturday, but with the benefit of daylight and Bogie did all he needed to coax the impressive MINI WRC through the lanes and to victory, his second win of the season and taking maximum Scottish Rally Championship points to boot.

Henderson grabbed a handful of fastest time but could not quite live with Bogie on the day to take second and top scorer in the Asphalt Rally Championship. Binnie admitted to struggling with Friday night’s stages but returned a giant-killing performance in his ageing Mitsubishi Evo to grab third.

Freddie Milne/Patrick Walsh briefly sat in second on Saturday before a spin cost them some time, taking fourth in their Fiesta R5. Rory Young/Allan Cathers couldn’t quite match their Jim Clark Rally pace to take fifth in their Fiesta Rally2 whilst Gordon Morrison/Hannah Davison rounded out the top six in their Fiesta R5.

Local heroes Calum and Laura MacLeod were also able to secure a finish in their Ford Escort MK2, the Argyll residents taking 63rd overall after starting in 106th place.

The Argyll Rally made a return to the British rallying calendar in 2017 after a thirteen-year sabbatical. First known as the Burmah Rally, the event originated in the early 1970s when the British Rally Championship assembled in the region and saw classic battles in the local forests with names such as Roger Clark and Jimmy McRae at the front of the field.

Latterly, it was run by Lanarkshire Car Club but didn’t take place after 2004 until being reborn in 2017 by Mull Car Club in the nearby forests. However, with falling entry numbers and limited forests available, an alternative solution was sought, and the event moved onto the closed public roads in the region thanks to the passing of a Parliamentary law to allow roads to be closed for timed motorsport events.

You can keep up to date on the event via their social media feeds on Facebook, Twitter or the website at

%d bloggers like this: