Skip navigation

The Fuchs Lubricants British Historic Rally Championship could see a new champion crowned on Filey seafront in Yorkshire next weekend, as the series heads to the penultimate round of the season, the Trackrod Historic Cup [23-24 September].

With four sensational gravel rounds completed in this year’s BHRC, the battle for the coveted title will certainly hot up during the two-day event, as some of the most classic forest stages in England are set to test the contenders to the limit.

As if the infamous Cropton, Langton and Gale Rigg forest tests are not enough to challenge the BHRC protagonists, the 11-mile blast through Dalby under the cover of darkness on Friday could well shape the entire rally.

And all eyes will be towards the front of the field as three-time British Rally champion Matt Edwards is the top seed after blasting down these very forests in modern R5 machinery 12 months previously, winning the event on his way to a hattrick of BRC titles.

Now behind the wheel of a FIAT 131 Abarth, Edwards and co-driver, Hamish Campbell endured a difficult Woodpecker Rally, retiring from the lead on the final stage. Not contesting the opening round has hurt their championship chances with just the one dropped score to come into play, but they could still take the fight to the final round in Carlisle with a win this weekend.

But it’s Escort MKII driver Henri Grehan and FIAT 131 pilot Nick Elliott who really hold the key to the outcome. Grehan secured his first BHRC win at the Woodpecker, putting local knowledge to good use as he and Dan Petrie scooped the top score. Add in their consistency this season, and they head to Yorkshire with a healthy lead.

A win at the Trackrod could scoop Grehan the title but if Elliott and co-driver Dave Price finish runner-up or higher, it goes to the season finale.

Robert Gough teams up with round one winning co-driver Sam Collis once again whilst Matt Robinson is out of action and the Ford Escort MKII pairing grabbed an impressive runner up spot last time out. Gough could well enter the title fight if Grehan and Elliott fall by the wayside.

Adam Milner and Joy Jarvis missed the Woodpecker but lead the Category Two [cars between 1968-1975] field in their Ford Escort MKI. It’s Warren Philliskirk and Garry Green who head the standings but there are just 12 points separating the top three contenders, with Josh Carr second and Woodpecker top-scorer Chris Skill third.

A bumper BHRC entry also sees the return of Category One [cars up to 1968] champion Bob Bean in his Lotus Cortina, but he will be pushed on by Terry Crees’ Mini Cooper S and Bob Seager’s MG Midget.

For more information on any of the Championships promoted by the RACMRC, please visit:

Top Five Provisional Points after Round 4 – The Phil Price Memorial Woodpecker Rally

Henri Grehan 105
Nick Elliott 82
Robert Gough 71
Matt Edwards 66
Rudi Lancaster 63

%d bloggers like this: